Skip to content

Using the internet to find out anything…

November 7, 2012

It occurred to me over the week just how much I use search engines for my answers. It made me think, will I ever open a real book to find an answer again? Will I ever have to use an index or table of contents? With finding tools and search engines and Boolean search methods, its weird to say, not very much. In fact, it kind of scares me that my son will probably not know what its like to have to research a  topic using a paper book. With technology growing and it becoming cheaper buying a Nook, Kindle, iPAD, etc. I think there is much that is going to be lost. It reminds me of how my dad talks about his 8-Track collection and how much it meant to him to show us how to use the player. Just like with cassettes and CDs. It really is amazing how far humans have come in such a short time compared to just a hundred or two hundred years ago.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    November 7, 2012 9:18 am

    Now I feel old! I think you meant 8-track player BTW. Seriously, this is a real topic for concern because new things always displace the old and there is always the risk that the trade-off is less than optimal. Personally, I feel like anything that makes information more accessible is an unalloyed good.

  2. November 9, 2012 4:23 pm

    Thanks for the correction on the 8-Track. 🙂 At leas now I will never make that mistake again!

  3. November 9, 2012 4:24 pm

    I love books. I love physical objects and what they can represent but in the quest for information spending an hour hunting along a paper trial when compared to a .0003 second turn around is just hard to justify, even more so when you still have to read what you find. So I really like what computers can do for us. Not to mention spell checking, but related.

Leave a Reply

