Skip to content

The public wants their numbers BIG

October 26, 2012
by

http://www.useit.com/alertbox/writing-numbers.html

I chose this article because these tips are simple but effective ways to increase usability.  This article explains how people scan for facts (similar points as the article we read for class).  That means write your numbers as actual numbers, not spelled out, and make them visually stand out.

Another point in this article that I’m guilty of doing is writing as if I’m trying to write a prize winning novel.  Your webpage viewers don’t care about your writing skills as much as they do about finding what they want to know quickly.  This article spoke to someone like me who tends to over complicate things sometimes.   : /

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2012 6:21 pm

    I, too, am guilty of writing too “properly.” I have a very difficult time either texting or sending e-mails that are grammatically correct so I cannot even imagine writing informally on a website. After all, you are a published author and you do not want to look dumb! However, I can see the point of the article. People scan the Internet and rarely read word for word. I guess we just have to leave the prose to academic journals!

  2. October 26, 2012 9:41 pm

    I’m guilty of skimming so I guess I can see why writing numbers using numbers would be easier.. or using a mix of numbers and letters. Very interesting article, I enjoyed the parts I skimmed 🙂

    I’m the opposite of you guys where I always write in a casual manner online. I treat it more like I’m having a one way conversation.

  3. October 27, 2012 7:54 am

    I am also guilty of skimming, whether it’s reading online or reading a book. That was a “trick” I learned when I was an undergrad, to get through massive amounts of reading materials. But when I write, I tend to spell everything out! I need to remember to put myself in the place of the viewer as I’m writing online content.

    Good article, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

