Skip to content

Uploading to YouTube Help

October 25, 2012

Uploading to YouTube is a new thing for me, so bear with me if this is an overly simple question or I’m going off in the wrong direction entirely.

I have my Powerpoint narrated slide show, which is in .pptx format. This is not a format that YouTube accepts. So I need to save it in an accepted format, but if I’m not mistaken, Powerpoint can’t do that for me. What am I missing here? Is it Jing? But I understood from the lecture that wasn’t needed if we had a fully functional version of Powerpoint.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    October 25, 2012 2:07 pm

    You need to choose the “save as” option and then click the button for “save as movie” which will generate a *.wmv file that YouTube will then convert into flash and html5 versions when upload.

    edit: choose “save and send” then choose “create a video”

  2. jayon615 permalink
    October 25, 2012 2:30 pm

    Okay. That clears it up. Apparently Powerpoint 2007 doesn’t have that option. I’ll go download Jing.

    • derek permalink*
      October 25, 2012 2:33 pm

      see: PPT to WMV 07

      for 2007 version

      • jayon615 permalink
        October 25, 2012 6:02 pm

        Thank you Derek. I did end up having to install the Wondershare PPT2Video Pro trial to get this done with my existing slide show.

  3. October 26, 2012 11:10 am

    Jing gives you the option of uploading to screencast.com, which is what I used.

Leave a Reply

