Skip to content

Seniors and Digital Storytelling

October 24, 2012

I am really seeing an impact with the digital storytelling assignment that I had not previously recognized and how it can be applied is universal.

http://www.northshoreoutlook.com/community/175623841.html

The article by the North Shore Outlook speaks of a program that works with seniors in memorializing their past rather it be work or family or personal experience and this program has not only allowed others to share in their memories but their health is improving.  I finished my video just last night and family members are interested and crying while even friends are compelled to watch of their own free will.  If I can get my 17 year-old niece to watch my family video than this opens doors for educational benefits as well as preserving family memories which I believed would be lost in the next generation.  I hope you all enjoy the article and I feel like I might be late into the game on this subject but did not want to pass on this opportunity of further exposure.

Thank you for your time.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2012 5:18 pm

    There seem to be several organizations promoting the digital capture of personal stories. The local Historical Society here in Clark County WA recently implemented a program called “Oral Histories”. They set up a recording station in the Museum and invited long-time residents to come in and record their stories about the area and their lives here. As far as I can tell you have to go into the Museum to listen to them. I just might follow up and see if they plan on making them available through their web-site. It is a wonderful way to preserve first-hand experience and memories.

  2. October 25, 2012 10:59 am

    I agree family history can be so enlightening. I have always been an avid reader of military history.It was only when I was an adult that I learned my mom was a “Rosie the Riveter.” My dad had talked about working in the aircraft plants in Los Angeles but I always had the impression there was more to the story. So, yes we need to capture this history.

  3. October 25, 2012 11:28 am

    I think this is such a great way to keep history and important memories. Every generation that leaves us takes their history with them. Allowing seniors to discuss their past and what they were doing at certain times in history, what their beliefs were, how they grew up, and so much more is so important. historians look at this information to see how certain demographics live and what differences do they bring. Writing down an interview is great but having a video going with pictures and information explaining what the items are is exceptional, it’s truly bringing history alive!!! Can you imagine if we were able to have Civil War veterans being able to talk of their history or FDR talking, or bringing it closer to home, your great great grandparents. This is just truly amazing. Even doing it for yourself and for your children is worth the time.

  4. Alice Worden permalink
    October 26, 2012 10:19 am

    There’s a less high tech version of this where my grandparents live; it’s a memoir writing group (they use typewriters!), and it’s done a lot for my grandpa who has a lot of trouble speaking and putting ideas together. The last time I visted, he read us some of the stories he had written from his childhood and his service in WWII.

    Whether it’s done with digital video or the old fashioned way, I think programs like this are really important because they not only record the memories we’re losing every day, but, like you mentioned (and I’ve observed) they seem to be helpful for the people participating in them as well.

Leave a Reply

