Skip to content

Color Scheme Tools

October 24, 2012
by

This isn’t an article, but I hope it falls under the purview of “item of interest,” per the assignment instructions. I’ve gotten a lot of mileage out of the following two sites while working on my final project:

1. Color Scheme Designer: There are a number of things that I like about this site. Beyond just giving you back complementary colors when you give it a starting color, it helps you identify a number of different types of color schemes that correspond to your desired color. I’m not up on my color theory, but I can see that the “accented analogic” design that it gives me looks good. It is highly customizable and provides a nice example of how these colors would look laid out in panels. It also shows what the lighter and darker shades in a given scheme would look like together. And it shows what white, black, and grey text will look like on your colors. AND it shows you what your colors/text will look like to someone with various forms of colorblindness. So for the sake of aesthetic design as well as for accessibility for people with visual impairments, I consider this to be a very interesting and useful site.

2. HTML Color Picker: This site isn’t quite as interesting as the other, but I’ve gotten some mileage out of it. Basically, allows you to figure out the color code for any image or website. I’ve used it to try to find background colors that closely match images that I want to use, for a coherent color scheme. Or if you see a site that you like, you can figure out what colors are being used. You can give it a URL to a website or to a specific image, or you can upload an image of your own. When your image is loaded onto the page, just click the area that you want to know about and it gives you the color in HTML, RGB, and HSV. Again, I have found this useful for attempting to create aesthetically non-offensive color schemes, especially where loud images are concernd.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2012 11:44 am

    How wonderful! I love the idea of making sure a site is still functional even to someone with colorblindness. Very accessible. Also, being able to double check that your site doesn’t have that terrible dark background with dark text unreadable effect.

  2. October 24, 2012 12:07 pm

    I was fascinated by using colorschemedesigner.com to see what colors look like to those with different types of colorblindness. This is not only a great tool for selecting pleasing color combinations, but will help me choose colors that will work for a wider range of viewers. I have a friend who reminds me occasionally that he is color blind and now I can “visualize” a little more clearly how he sees the world. This tool is something I will share with other interested people – thanks.

  3. October 26, 2012 2:46 pm

    Color Scheme is pretty cool! I liked the randomized feature. I definitely saw some interesting color combos.

  4. October 26, 2012 10:05 pm

    I have used this site before. My nephew is color blind. I like to see how he sees the world.

Leave a Reply

