Skip to content

Digital Storytelling Topic

October 14, 2012

I’m having a hard time identifying a topic for my digital storytelling project (and therefore my map for this week’s assignment). Part of it is that I’m not sure who my audience is supposed to be; I can’t really think of a story I have to tell that would be interesting to anyone besides me and maybe my friends. 

I’d love to hear a) clarification from Derek on who we’re supposed to be making this for and b) ideas from my fellow classmates (if you already know what you’re doing or might do, and you don’t mind sharing for inspiration). 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. jnetzloff permalink
    October 15, 2012 1:00 pm

    Hi Alice,
    I’m planning to do a “where did I go on my Sabbatical” story. That probably isn’t interesting to anyone else either, but I’m hoping it will prepare me for the story that the assignment has really inspired about my Japanese-American mother in law and her time trapped in Japan during WW2. That is a much more interesting story, but I cannot possibly complete it in two weeks, so I’m treating the sabbatical story as a test case.

    • Alice Worden permalink
      October 15, 2012 9:01 pm

      Thanks for sharing. I like the idea of treating this as a “test case”; it takes some of the pressure off. I hope you continue to work on your mother-in-law’s story; I’d love to see/hear it someday.

  2. October 16, 2012 8:16 am

    I really like the thought of doing a family thing or something about yourself. If you do not want to do something about yourself yo can also try doing one on someone famous. You can look into their lives and perhaps do a map on where they have traveled.

    • Alice Worden permalink
      October 16, 2012 8:35 am

      Thanks for the suggestions. I may consider doing something about a famous person. That sounds easier to me.

  3. derek permalink*
    October 19, 2012 9:06 am

    Typically a digital story isn’t for you to tell, but for you to capture and add to a collection.

    • Alice Worden permalink
      October 19, 2012 12:20 pm

      Okay, I’m going to be honest and admit that, if anything, this just makes me more confused. I’m both confused as to what you’re saying, and confused as to why you’re saying it. Have I horribly misunderstood the assignment, or did I just make a semantic error in my question?

      Here’s what it looks like to me: a story teller is someone who shapes the way the story gets presented (which, you can argue, is the story itself; presented in a different way it becomes a different story). If you’re capturing a story without telling it, that implies that you have no influence over the way the story is presented to the world; if you do have that influence, you would be at least aiding in telling the story, even if you’re not the primary “teller.” If I record someone talking about their childhood, I’m capturing the story, but if I edit it and present it in a certain way, I would be part of the telling. Unless what you’re saying is that I’m operating under the wrong definition of story; that a story exists independently of its telling or not being told, and that even the person who the story “belongs” to isn’t really telling it so much as capturing it.

      Now I not only have no idea what story to capture, I feel like maybe I’m misunderstanding the assignment entirely. You said in lecture this week that the content isn’t the focus of this assignment, so I made a map that features hikes that have been influential to me as a hiker. Is this going to be sufficient?

      Also, sorry this comment is so long. I was perfectly fine trudging along with no idea what I’m doing, but now I feel like it’s important to understand what you’re saying.

      • derek permalink*
        October 19, 2012 2:36 pm

        Generally, we collect digital stories and add them collections: eg, First Lady Sheriff in OC. That is part of the OC History archive. That woman did not make that video: a librarian friend of mine from OCPL made the video. IF YOU DO NOT KNOW OF A STORY, tell any story to learn the technology and process (eg, “places I’ve lived”). What could be more plain?

  4. Alice Worden permalink
    October 19, 2012 5:10 pm

    Derek, I apologize if you’re getting the impression that I’m generally unable to comprehend plain things. Although that is sometimes true, I think I understand what you’re saying now, which has less to do with the assignment and more to do with the practical realities of librarianship. (Please correct me if that’s wrong.)

    I’m frequently befuddled by your brevity, and while I usually try to let it go, I thought it was important to understand what you were saying because it was addressed directly to me/my question. I’m sorry for bothering you.

    • derek permalink*
      October 19, 2012 8:40 pm

      Never a bother and not a thing to worry about. I am obtuse on purpose -the goal is to make the student think. I am often misunderstood and as a consequence I repeat myself and give the impression I am annoyed at the student when in reality I am annoyed with myself. So please excuse my poor manners for using all caps in a comment.

Leave a Reply

