Skip to content

Robert Bush’s Final Project

October 5, 2012

Well, I’ve been captioning for 20-something years, so that’s what I know.  I’d like to do a site that gives people information on the history of subtitling and closed-captioning, as well as practical information on both forms’  many audiences and uses.   The website is for anyone seeking out information on the process in the interest of making their own material accessible or users trying to understand the process and seek out subtitled and captioned material.  This can range from deaf and hard of hearing viewers to children learning to read to people looking for subtitles in their own language to anyone trapped on a treadmill in a noisy gym.    Other topics I would cover include captioning on the Web and the slow march of technology toward automated captioning…I have seen the future and I won’t have a job.  I would also put users in contact with various resources from service providers to government entities to advocacy groups concerned with accessibility.  In the end, maybe I’ll also know how the whole thing works, because there are still some corners of my little professional world that even I don’t understand.

One Comment leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    October 8, 2012 4:32 pm

    this sounds quite good and seems as if it could apply to many core competencies, just remember not to saddle yourself with too much content work

Leave a Reply

