Skip to content

Deanna Thompson – NYPL

October 5, 2012

I had originally planned to do a culture study of Japan as my final project but had a change of heart because I just could not resist the opportunity to exploit the New York Public Library’s relatively short, but extremely rich, history.

I plan to create a site on the history of the New York Public Library (NYPL) – the first (and arguably only) library of its kind. The target audience will be those interested in the history of early public libraries or specifically studying the NYPL. Upon opening NYPL was one of the first libraries to specifically seek out under-served immigrant groups and they have an impressive amount of primary documentation from their founding through the modern era. For history buffs (like myself), this is a dream subject. Because documentation is so scattered, I will attempt to combine it into a shorter and more user-friendly single resource.

My site will be simple (so as not to detract from the content) and provide links to information about the original founders, history of the library, facilities, population diversity, etc… Ultimately, I would like the site and the content to make users excited about this national treasure.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2012 1:44 pm

    Deanna – I am really looking forward to your website. I have a love of the New York Public Library, and it is the library I measure all others against. Most of them do not stack up! The history of the library would be really exciting to learn about. I hope that you enjoy creating your website!
    Sarah

  2. derek permalink*
    October 5, 2012 3:48 pm

    sounds interesting but it doesn’t sound like you know who the audience will be, new yorkers or librarians?

  3. October 5, 2012 7:28 pm

    The target audience is history lovers interested in the origins of public libraries.

Leave a Reply

