Skip to content

Final Project idea – Sarah Fihe

October 4, 2012

For My website I want to create a learning tool for 6th graders that helps them learn the history content standards through the fictional work of Rick Riordan. For the scope of the project I will be using the Kane Chronicles to help them learn about ancient Egypt. If I need to include a larger amount of material then I will add the Lost Olympian series to teach about ancient Rome and Greece.  By using popular fiction it is easier to start the learning process for concepts that can be difficult to understand. I will also include a teaching resource page with links to both teaching ideas and content information.

 One of my main cultural considerations is providing links that are safe. I will check my links and secondary links to help insure that students are not accessing content that is beyond them or inappropriate. Another thing I want to focus on is making a site that is engaging to 11 and 12 year olds without being too involved, so that the information, not the context, can be absorbed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    October 5, 2012 11:04 am

    nice idea, my favorite library patrons are children

Leave a Reply

