Skip to content

Final Project – Ben Hansen

October 4, 2012

What I will do: Because I plan to make an e-portfolio I have been trying to work on subjects that will reflect the kind of work I would like to get into after the MLIS program. As such I would like to make a website that would be an educational/ instructional site focused on an introduction to relational databases for high school students. The site will talk about what relational databases are, what they do, some history, and so on.

Over the past, maybe two years, I have been spending a lot of time studying databases so I already have a decent idea as to what they are and I have a collection of links and books on the subject so I can put the site together with out a whole lot of research, but I expect to learn much in the process of building, or growing if you prefer, the web site. So this is a personal interest of mine but databases are used every where and more people are needed in the area of work. I’ll go out on limb and say that most people are not too aware of what DB work is, certainly not most HS students. Now I’ve been out of high school for ten years but I doubt that what students learn or are generally exposed to in HS these days has changed much over the past ten years. If students take a computer class they may be exposed to DBs but I don’t I don’t really know, I’ll have to investigate that.

What is interesting is that people like to talk about what the “digital natives” know about computers and what they like, but what I’ve seen is that some “digital natives” are not to knowledgeable about computer related things; I’m not condemning, just pointing out an observation. So I think that a website focused on a topic related to jobs that are in demand and directed towards young people is good. I could just as well create a website that focuses on retirement planing but that is not of much interest to me right now, so I’ll focus on young folks exploring careers.

Audience: High school students, teens, that are not already interested in computer work.

Culture: High school students in many ways are in a transitional time of their lives and so have a lot going on. The site would respect that fact by being a high level over view of relational databases. The site will mesh with the current stylistic designs that other sites have that are focused on teens as an audience. It is good to point out that the site is for general understanding, the operative word is general. That means that I will try not to presuppose that the site users are any more computer savvy than the average teen.  I will have to look up what the average teen knows about computers in general, databases specifically. Now it is a possibility that the only teens that would be interested in DBs would be teens that are already interested in computers but I will try to make a site that will hopefully appeal to teens that are not yet interested in computer work.

Ok so, questions and comments are welcomed!

Thanks.

Ben.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    October 4, 2012 2:54 pm

    very cool idea and I will look forward to this when done

  2. October 4, 2012 3:17 pm

    Thanks!
    I think that it will be a lot of fun. Maybe I’ll put in some numbers about who “the average High school student is” It is kinda of bugging me that I’ve made some general statements about a population with out backing it up with some some numbers. Any ways, work in progress.

Leave a Reply

