Skip to content

Final Project Idea

October 2, 2012
by

History of System Analysis in the Computer Age.

Target audience: Historians, data analysts, computer analysts, system thinkers, computer lovers, interested web surfers.

I recently did a pathfinder for my 243 Information Systems class and found that there aren’t any good websites that have an overview on the topic.  Of the two I found, one was an opinionated blog with lots of info but zero citation.

I’d want the site to be very simplistic and elegant, with a page with a time line of the many advancements in systems analysis in regards to computers. That would include a number of theories, inventions, creators and citations. I’d really like to put this stuff together because I know the information isn’t out there on the web (or at least, I couldn’t find it) and I also have a ton of resources that would get me started.

Thoughts?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    October 2, 2012 3:36 pm

    Sounds great to me. How will you account for the cultural sensitivities of the audience?

  2. October 2, 2012 5:19 pm

    Sounds like a really interesting idea. I will have to go visit your site when it is done so I understand what it is all about!

    Can you explain what a pathfinder is? People keep mentioning it.

  3. October 2, 2012 6:18 pm

    Derek- by having a minimalism and elegant design to the site, I hope to make computer savvy folks feel more comfortable with the information presentation. It’s hard to determine the culture needs of this particular audience. Anyone have any suggestions?

    Sarah- A pathfinder (in the particular case of this assignment) is a sort of subject guide. It’s usually made in the library to showcase the best books, websites, journals, databases, blogs, portal sites, and all around resources for anyone interested in learning more about a particular subject. Prior to the internet, a library would have pathfinders that focused on the best resources they had in house on a particular subject. It’s supposed to function as a time saver. It was an interesting assignment, and like I said I found there was a lack of good websites compiling all the information I found together in a comprehensive timeline.

Leave a Reply

