Skip to content

Final Project

October 1, 2012

For my final project I thought I will do a site about Balloon Aerial Photography Mapping. I am taking LIBR 220 which is about Maps and GIS technologies.

I recently went to a workshop about Map making using balloon aerial photography and I had a great time. It was actually a lot of fun. My audience would consist of either students (like me) who are learning about maps or anyone who is interested in maps and map making.

It will have information on:

What is Balloon Aerial Photography Map Making?

How does it work?

–What tools and web resources you can use?

What are it’s benefits?

Who can use it?

It will also have pics of my recent experience and video too.

Also links to where someone can purchase a kit to try this out.

What do you think?

 

Here is a picture of me (the one with the red shirt) with the balloon:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    October 2, 2012 3:18 pm

    Sounds like a good project with a focused audience. What cultural sensitivities will need to be observed for this audience?

    • October 2, 2012 9:41 pm

      Well, to be honest I didn’t think about that. I’m sorry. Not 100% sure what you mean by cultural sensitivities, but if its people with disabilities like vision or hearing impaired, I can try and make the site as user friendly as I am able. For hearing impaired visitors, the videos I post will contain caption, but the one video I really want to add doesn’t have any real audio, its all images from the height of the balloon. For vision impediments, I’m not really sure what I can do to help. It might be difficult for someone who is blind to take aerial photography and then use it to create a map. I will research it some more. For those who speak Spanish I can add at the footer an option to contact me if they want information in Spanish. Something like, “Informacion En Espanol” and then it can take them to a form to fill out in Spanish requesting information maybe? What do you think?

      • derek permalink*
        October 4, 2012 2:07 pm

        Do you know your audience well enough not to offend them in some unintentional way. I suggest you reading closely the supplemental readings from the assignment on cultural awareness.

  2. October 5, 2012 12:38 pm

    I will def read it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

