Skip to content

Addendum recording

September 18, 2012
by

I just recorded a short video of me concluding the presentation from last night. Find it on my collaborate recordings page with today’s date.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2012 2:03 pm

    Thanks, sorry to hear there were problems. Sunspots seem like the most likely explanation.

  2. jayon615 permalink
    September 18, 2012 2:16 pm

    Derek, when you say at the end of the addendum that it’s not necessary to ‘port over’ the style for week 4, I assume you mean that the style sheet doesn’t need to be wrapped in the new student website style and presented as a separate page, only the .html document. Let us know if that’s correct please.

    I also want to be sure that the resulting even uglier ugliness of the week 4 assignment when it is squeezed into 480 pixels is as you expect.

  3. derek permalink*
    September 18, 2012 2:26 pm

    No need to make the styling from week 4 work on the new layout.

  4. September 19, 2012 11:16 am

    Hi Derek,

    I’m stuck. Can you help? I created my “wk3.html” file from “wk3_zorkerj.html.” Fine. Created “wk3a.html” and “wk3b.html.” I changed the links in wk3.html to refer to the new docs, however they’re still linking to old ones. For example, I can force “wk3a.html” to display by entering it into the browser field, but when I click the link on “wk3.html” to “wk3a.html” it’s still going to “wk3a_zorkerj.html,” even though the link is changed. I know one of the links is relative, but I’ve got the problem for both the wk3a and wk3b doc.

    Also, second question… because wk3a_zorkerj file contains some formatting statements within the body tag, I assume it’s okay to include its body tag within the part that you paste into the div section of the new file, wk3a.html. It seemed to display okay that way.

    Thanks,
    Jordon

  5. September 19, 2012 11:34 am

    Nevermind, found the problem myself. Maybe you could answer the second question.

  6. derek permalink*
    September 19, 2012 12:18 pm

    You can style the older pages in any way you see fit but it must use the same layout on every page. So if styling breaks the layout, don’t use it.

  7. September 20, 2012 11:28 am

    Hi Derek,
    I have a problem in Firefox. Took me a while to discover it. My pages aren’t refreshing. Whether I restart the browser or whatever, the view of a page I’m getting is an historical one. I was able to verify this by viewing the same url in Chrome. But I need to use the code validation tool in Firefox. I didn’t want to try deleting my browsing history because I use it to quick link to some items. Any suggestion?

    Also, is it okay to keep the bogus Webmaster contact address you gave us or we need to use our real email? -Jordon

  8. September 20, 2012 11:48 am

    Discovered F5 works, if anyone has the same problem. Would still like to know about Webmaster address.

  9. derek permalink*
    September 20, 2012 12:39 pm

    CTRL+F5 is a forced refresh in FF on Windows. Browser cache is a setting in FF you set. On email address of course it is OK to use a fake one.

  10. September 20, 2012 1:54 pm

    I’m having a weird problem and it’s preventing me from working. Can no longer seem to refresh pages or else they aren’t uploading. I made some changes to my valid_jello.html, uploaded and overwrote, but the old one displays. Tried deleting it from the senna side, then uploading. Tried uploading a test text doc and it displays fine. Tried clearing all my browser history, but it seems like I’m still getting an old display. Tried viewing in Chrome, which worked at first, but now also seems stuck on an old view. – Jordon

    • derek permalink*
      September 20, 2012 3:58 pm

      OE — operator error. Either you are not uploading the files you are editing or you are not saving the files you are editing before uploading, or you are not viewing the file you uploaded. As no one else is having this issue then Occam’s razor points to the operator of the software. The best way to address this problem is to create an entirely new file and upload it, make changes, save it, upload it again, view it again. Remember each iteration requires attention to detail. As an aside, many times I’ve worked on one file only to upload an identically named file that did not contain my edits.

  11. September 21, 2012 11:11 am

    Duh, finally discovered I was working with the wrong file, but I really lost a lot of time. Finally got it completed, I think.

    My Blackboard IM still doesn’t work. One of the students suggested contacting Gina Lee. I did. She sent me some instructions that said to log-on to Blackboard website and change your Course Settings. When I log-on to that site, it doesn’t display my Course Settings. I emailed her back about this, never got a reply. Emailed her again, no reply. That was Sept. 14. Yesterday I tried phoning D2L Support. They said I should ask my instructor to contact Gina Lee.

    Previously, I opened one ticket that they decided to close. I don’t have the number. On my own I tried reinstalling the software, etc. Maybe it’s possible I’m at fault, but I can’t think of anything else to try and it seems unfair that much of the semester should go by and I’m unable to use one of the tools. -Jordon

    • derek permalink*
      September 21, 2012 4:34 pm

      Can’t do much about BB and I am not a fan of the company. But to be honest I prefer email to IM, so if you need to contact me. Send me an email.

Leave a Reply

