Skip to content

Playing Around

August 29, 2012

I do have to say “It is getting fun playing around with different elements, i.e. colors, font size, pictures, etc.” Next week I am going to try something different.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2012 7:09 pm

    I totally agree. I got a little carried away on mine but ended up chickening out when it came to turning it in. I was actually looking at my district’s website, which I update frequently, and saw that there is an option to view your work in HTML. WOW is all I can say. There was so much code, and the best part was, I understood some of it!!!

    • jesseblazek permalink
      September 4, 2012 10:20 am

      I haven’t been playing around so much with my own pages as much as playing around looking at the coding of various pages around the internet. It’s so awesome to begin to recognize a lot of the elements that we’re working on, even if I don’t understand the details of what I’m looking at. I’m anticipating being able to understand more and more as we continue to work through the course. It’s like Derek said in the first meeting, I feel like I’m getting to peek behind the great wizard’s curtain. Maybe it’s disappointing for some people to see that the internet isn’t magic, it’s cool to see all of the levers and buttons that get pulled in making it do what it does.

  2. August 29, 2012 7:16 pm

    Speaking of “playing around”… Derek, it’s not clear to me if we are required to post something on the Blog every week or if you would like us to playfully post whatever we like, within reason of course, as if treating it like a Facebook wall, etc. Sorry if I missed this, but I went back to the Greensheet and didn’t seem to see anything about it. – Jordon

  3. derek permalink*
    August 30, 2012 8:08 am

    The blog is entirely optional until it isn’t. 😛 By that I mean there will be assignments later that require the student to make a blog post and comments. But unless there is an assignment requirement, no one is required to post or comment. On the flip side, you are all authors of the blog and can post anything you like and have fun with it as you all see fit. I enjoy the blog/comment format and think it adds community value to counteract the negatives we all experience in a distance format.

Leave a Reply

