Skip to content

Week 1 Grading Complete

August 27, 2012
by

Grading for week 1 is now complete and for the first time ever all students got a perfect or better than perfect score. Congratulations to you all -this is a real achievement as there are usually 1 or 2 student who submit a bad link, misname the file or find some unusual way to not follow the instructions set out in the Collaborate meeting.

I was also tickled pink to hand out a substantial amount of EC [extra credit] for images and image attempts. This leads naturally to a discussion of my policy on EC attempts: no student will ever be penalized for making an attempt at EC. Practically this means if the EC is wrong or broken and affects the non-EC portion of the assignment I will disregard that bad/non-functioning code when grading. I also award partial EC for those efforts which are not quite what I asked for, but are close. Many students made me lol on the first week and I am so grateful. Consider the hundreds of hello.html files I’ve looked at over the years and you get an inkling of my POV! That many were able to tickle my funny bone right out of the gate is just plan delightful.

A couple of notes on policy and logistics: a) I will always have homework graded before the next assignment is due and usually will grade on Sunday;  b) the amount of feedback I give is inversely proportional to the level of the work, which means if a student did a good job, then the feedback might be one word: ‘perfect’ or the like. Our work is binary and there are no opinions involved; either the code functions or it does not. And this is one of my favorite things about our work: we are not the humanities or any other ‘soft’ pursuit in academia where stroking the professor’s ego and regurgitating the ‘right’ opinions in the right way is an essential part of achieving a good grade.  You can disagree with me, hate my taste in music and generally make me dislike you as a person and it will have no bearing on the grade awarded in my class. Very freeing state of being, IMHO.

Well, see you all tonight.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2012 10:32 am

    Hi Derek,
    Sorry to use bandwidth here for the wrong purpose, but I’ve got a problem with my Blackboard IM, thought you might know the answer if it’s simple (I did open a ticket, but it got rerouted, etc.). At the start of the semester, my Blackboard IM performed an auto-update (“Pronto,” I think it said), but no class contacts display in it and it won’t let me add any courses (it usually auto provides the classes). I can add a group or contact if I know the exact name. I tried reinstalling it, it prompted for the update, still displays no contacts. Do you know a quick fix for this, offhand? Otherwise I’ll continue with the tickets. I’m not sure if the problem lies with SJSU, Blackboard, or me. Thanks. -Jordon

  2. derek permalink*
    August 27, 2012 11:24 am

    Thanks for this. I’ll check with the appropriate person about the classmates in BB IM. I’d noticed that none of my students were in BB IM, as well. And there is no wrong use of the blog as others out there might be having the same issue.

Leave a Reply

