Skip to content

Hi from Glendale

August 24, 2012

Hi, Robert Bush here.  I had to go look it up because I’m starting to forget how long I’ve been in the program.  I started in spring of 2010 and I’m almost halfway through.  (I only take one class in the spring and fall.)  I guess that puts me on track to graduate in 2014 or 15…unless something changes and I suddenly make a sprint to the finish.  Probably  not, though, as I’m busy with my present career and a family.  I have no programming experience, though at some point when I started working at home a few years ago and needed a website, I bought a book called “Head First HTML.”  I successfully navigated the first three chapters…then got too busy, copped out, and used a Microsoft Small Business template.  An unusual fact about me is that I caption and subtitle movies and television for a living with the result that I hate watching movies and television.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    August 24, 2012 11:43 am

    Wow, that job would bum me out as I’m a motion picture junkie (any size screen). Welcome aboard, though!

  2. August 24, 2012 12:53 pm

    Hi Robert
    What are you planing on doing with your MLIS? Also, I have captioned a few recording for the SFPL and it took me forever to get them done. I captioned an interview with Mary Roach and It was on of the hardest things I’ve done, she is just all over the place and speaks really fast, much respect to.
    Ben

  3. August 24, 2012 4:53 pm

    Robert
    It is reassuring to find people who are not finishing their degrees in 2 years. I was beginning to think that I was the only one taking the long way around. I bet that you get a lot done without tv and movies as a distraction. Although if it was me I would just trade my screen time for book time, so I would not get anything more done. Good luck with your semester.
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

