Skip to content

Hello!

August 24, 2012
by

I’m Annie and I’m from San Francisco. I have worked for SFPL for 5 years. This is my third semester and plan on finishing by the end of Spring 2013. I have already taken 22 units so I’m halfway there.

In middle and high school I was interested in creating my own website so I taught myself basic HTML (font size, background color, adding images). I used the site Lissa Explains It All because she would provide HTML codes and I would just change certain parts to get what I wanted. In high school I was in an after-school program at BAVC or… Bay Area Video Coalition and they also taught us to write HTML in Notepad which we then used a program (might’ve been Fireworks but I’m not too sure) to upload to their server. After that, I didn’t have too many experiences using HTML. Knowing basic HTML does come in handy when editing the format. For example, last semester I had to create a LibGuide and I couldn’t get the paragraph spacing right I started playing around with HTML.

Hm.. I’m not sure what’s interesting.. I guess… I like to stay up really late/early. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    August 24, 2012 8:21 am

    Welcome, and burning the midnight oil makes you a natural.

  2. August 24, 2012 9:40 am

    Hey there Annie.
    That is great that you taught yourself how to create a website. That is how I usually like to learn about things – the exploration is a major part of the challenge.

  3. rbush953 permalink
    August 24, 2012 11:46 am

    Weird, isn’t it? Every semester when I’m asked to write something unusual about myself, I spend 15 minutes staring at the screen as I go through the list…”Well, that’s not unusual.” I really need to do something unusual before next semester.

  4. Elise S. permalink
    August 24, 2012 1:30 pm

    Hi Annie!
    It sounds like we had similar experiences dabbling with html at teens. My main job is at City College of San Francisco and BAVC is one of the groups we’ve been in contact with for some projects involving high schools. They’re an awesome organization.

Leave a Reply

