Skip to content

Questions, assignment 1

August 23, 2012
by

Hi,

This is a question for Derek, or any students who know. When creating our own folder with SSH Secure Shell, should it be a subfolder of the dchristiansen folder or at the same level? Sorry if this is a dumb question, but it wasn’t clear to me.

Also, I guess we aren’t given any written step-by-step instructions. We have to create our own from the Collaborate presentation, right?

Thanks, Jordon

4 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 4:15 pm

    Jordan, there are written instructions on the help page [link found at upper right of course site]. But in answer to your question, your folder should be a first child descendant of my folder:

    /opt/PUBchttpd/htdocs/dchristiansen/zorkerj

  2. August 23, 2012 4:24 pm

    Thanks, Derek!

  3. August 24, 2012 11:08 am

    I guess I was hoping to find something more like technical writing instructions with screenshots, such as, 1) Log on to SSH, 2) Create a profile by… etc. I didn’t see anything like that. Maybe that would be too dumbed down. If there is a set of instructions like this, I’m overlooking it. – Jordon

    • derek permalink*
      August 24, 2012 11:56 am

      My experience is that the step by step things don’t get read. So I stopped doing them when I started doing the live Collaborate meetings. If you watch the video you can set bookmarks and create steps. Failing that, you can ALWAYS meet with me privately and we can walk through it together to get you going.

Leave a Reply

