Skip to content

Hi from Virginia!

August 23, 2012
by

Hello classmates.  This is Sarah Mundy.  I started the MLIS program in January 2012.  I hope to finish around 2014 but that may be wishful thinking.  I’d rather take it slow than cram a bunch of classes in anyways.  I studied art history during my undergraduate schooling but, like many, never used my degree in the field I studied.  Eventually, I would like to use my MLIS degree to work in an art related field or other type of archive.

I think I’m becoming more excited about this class.  Honestly I didn’t think it would interest me since I don’t consider myself a techie.  However, I think it will be a very useful class whereas other classes in the MLIS program, while interesting, are sometimes difficult to apply in real world situations.

Factoids about me?  I like cats, beer, and Thai food.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2012 9:01 am

    I couldn’t agree more about taking this Master’s program at your own pace. I think there are so many classes to take and so much information to learn that taking it all in too fast will not allow you to really grasp the information. I, like you, was a little hesitant on taking this class but just witnessing how Derek created a website in a matter of seconds was too awesome to not want to learn!!! I look forward to what else he will be teaching us, and not to mention, I would rather be on this blog then a discussion board. This is so much better.

    Hope the weather in Virginia is treating you well.

    • choshil permalink
      August 24, 2012 10:08 am

      I agree. I’m not a big fan of the discussion boards either. This is much more laid back which is much more me. 🙂

  2. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 9:50 am

    Welcome, Sarah. Art history provides perspective and IMHO, that is more valuable than just about anything. And I promise you will have marketable skills by December and may even want more of them.

    • choshil permalink
      August 24, 2012 10:08 am

      I’m feeling more marketable already!

  3. alicelost permalink
    August 23, 2012 12:38 pm

    Hi Sarah! I share your love(s) of beer and cats (especially beer – no wait, especially cats… I can’t choose!). I took AP art history in high school and then avoided it while almost everyone else at my undergrad school took it. Now I’m trying to become a more well informed person by reading Gardner’s “Art Through the Ages” cover to cover. I’m enjoying it a lot, but I wish I could remember it all. Any advice on what to focus on?

    • choshil permalink
      August 24, 2012 9:58 am

      Cats…beer… it’s like having to choose a favorite child.

      Gardner’s book is a monster! I had to lug it around for my survey class. During my undergraduate years, I wish I could have learned more about contemporary art and art from different cultures. But you should just read and look at what is pleasing to you. It’s always easier to remember information that way 🙂 Good luck with it!

  4. August 23, 2012 4:13 pm

    Hi Sarah! I like cats, beer, and Thai food as well! Especially beer. I lived in San Diego for almost 10 years, and got a bit spoiled by the local beer scene. What are your favorite beers/breweries?

    • choshil permalink
      August 24, 2012 10:06 am

      I wish I could say we had a beer scene here. There are some breweries nearby but nothing I’ve fallen in love with. There are more vineyards than breweries in this area. But lately I’ve been ordering Stella Artois.

      • derek permalink*
        August 24, 2012 10:11 am

        My pals in the UK call Stella ‘silly sauce’ due to the large alcohol %

Leave a Reply

