Skip to content

Hello from downtown Los Angeles

August 23, 2012

Hi please call me Tom, not Thomas.     I just finished my first year, 3rd semester,  in the program. Most of my classes have been great, particularly this last summer.    I hope to graduate at the end of next summer.   I live next to Dodger Stadium close to downtown Los Angeles.    For many years I have been working in the Motion Picture Industry as an assistant film editor.  I worked on a number of movies you may have heard of.   Like many people I spent most of my time working at a computer, although when I began my career I used old fashioned tape.   I attended San Francisco State University for my undergraduate degree,  quite some years ago now,  and worked in the library there for 10 years.    Now I find myself heading back toward that career.     It is great to see such a variety of people here.

I have little web development experience, but when I was an undergraduate I did take more than one programming class.   It has been a while but always enjoyed programming.

Unusual facts:  When I worked on a movie called “Blow,” I had to show the actress Penelope Cruz the footage from a scene where her breasts came completely out of a comically  tight Versace dress she was wearing.   She didn’t really seem to care if anyone were to see this, but was concerned her breasts were not well lit.   In the end the filmmakers could not use the footage because  the other actors were laughing.   Also her attorney pointed out her contract stipulated they could not show her breasts.  Hooray for Hollywood.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2012 3:44 pm

    The unusual factoid has my vote!

    I think with this program you have to like to be on a computer and want to learn more about how to utilize them. I love learning how things work and this is such a great way to learn how pages are created and to really be able to help yourself.

    I help 300 people on a daily basis on their computers and this will only help me know how a computer works…

    So exciting.

  2. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 4:09 pm

    Welcome, Tom. What a great factoid. I am always humbled and impressed by the broad experience and knowledge of my students. A friend of mine is also an assistant director and has many such kewl on-set stories. Q: what is Johnny Depp like?

    • August 23, 2012 4:31 pm

      Johnny Depp seemed like a thorough going professional, but sadly the film director died some months after the film was completed and far, far too young. He and Johnny Depp were pretty close I think.

      • derek permalink*
        August 23, 2012 4:37 pm

        Sorry to hear that. I love that movie.

  3. August 23, 2012 8:35 pm

    What did the movie use for the “blow”? I can’t remember, were there scenes where the actors snorted? If so, was it just a fake snort. Was the pile of “blow” flour? Or baby laxatives? Ha hahahh.

    • August 23, 2012 8:45 pm

      Gosh, that is a good question! The only thing I can remember is that a lot of the marijuana was real. Crazy hollywood.

  4. August 23, 2012 8:44 pm

    I live in Echo Park close to the stadium too. What a small world.

    • August 24, 2012 3:46 pm

      It is good to meet you, one of the best things about distance learning is interacting with students both near and far, and just about everything in between.

  5. August 24, 2012 10:59 am

    I wonder if you were at SFSU back when their library had nearly a whole floor for A/V? I think it was the 4th floor or thereabouts. You could watch videos from a large collection in little one-person booths with headphones. I can’t remember if they had any celluloid viewing options for walk-in students. As a film student, I used to live in that wing of the library. They probably dumped the huge 16mm film collection they had. – Jordon

    • August 24, 2012 12:11 pm

      Wow, lord in heaven. It was called the media access center and I was the night supervisor there for 2 years. A lot of time has gone by. I remember going through the earthquake there as the shelving collapsed around me. They had a fine collection of films, I hope it is still in the basement, but I guess the library has been moved.

      • August 24, 2012 1:53 pm

        The SFSU library has recently been remodeled. I was a student there during the work so the temp library space was at the end of the campus past the parking lot. I have not gone in to the ‘new’ library but it looked nice from the construction picture.

Leave a Reply

