Skip to content

Hello

August 23, 2012

Greetings!  My name is Sara Fernandes (formerly Barrantes).  The name thing is a little confusing as I just changed it, but SJSU still has my maiden name so I suppose until it is changed with SJSU, for SLIS purposes, I am Sara Barrantes.  Enough about that…  I am in my second semester and plan to graduate December 2013.  Like Ben, I will be loading up on classes in order to accomplish this, but I love the courses so it truly is not burdensome.

My programming/web development experience is limited.  I have created websites for undergrad classes using Dreamweaver, which I realize is kind of cheating.  I also used CommonSpot to create and maintain the Provost’s website at Santa Clara University while I was a student.  I have some knowledge of HTML, but am eager to learn more.

An interesting factoid about me is that I am a distance swimmer and often compete in open water swims at Donner Lake and the San Francisco Bay and no, I do not wear a wetsuit!

I look forward to a great semester!

Sara

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2012 4:17 pm

    Hi Sara! Distance swimmers, particularly open water distance swimmers, really intimidate me – I sprinted when I was younger, and am now lazy and swim when I feel like doing some cardio but don’t want to run (I hate running). How do you swim in the Bay without a wetsuit?!

    • August 23, 2012 8:46 pm

      Iris, I think all swimmers hate running! It’s too bad since running is free and you can do it anywhere. I find it difficult to get myself to swim practice at 5:00 a.m. as an adult, but I guess it’s better than nothing!

Leave a Reply

