Skip to content

Hello

August 23, 2012

Hi everyone, I’m Ben Hansen and I live in San Francisco CA. This is my second semester with the school and I’ve been enjoying the classes very much. I am hoping to end the program Fall 2013. Ya I’m kind of powering through it.

I took 202 last semester and really enjoyed building the wee database which led me to spending much of the summer studying database topics. I do have some experience working with HTML and CSS but one can always learn more. I also have a interest in computer tech in general; I’ve built a desk top PC, installed a WAMP stack, installed a few flavors of Linux on my machines. I spent this summer studying for the Comptia A+ exam as well and will probably sit it some time this year.

An odd fact about me could be that I don’t use Facebook all that much, or it could be that I was a costume character actor at Sea World in San Diego a few summers ago. Looking forward to a lot of fun with all of you!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 10:45 am

    Welcome, Ben. Good to have fellow Linux user in the mix. What flavors are you trying?

    • August 23, 2012 10:50 am

      I wanted to put Linux on a laptop so tried Red Hat but it did not take to my laptop, however I was able to make a duel boot desk top with Red Hat. On the lap top I was able to get Ubuntu to work well.

      • derek permalink*
        August 23, 2012 11:16 am

        Linux on laptops has always been problematic. I am an Ubuntu user and the slisweb site sits on Ubuntu 12.04 server.

  2. August 23, 2012 10:56 am

    I love your comment about Facebook usage. I actually deleted mine and it’s quite freeing!

  3. alicelost permalink
    August 23, 2012 12:34 pm

    Hi Ben! I grew up in the San Diego area, and I don’t know very many people who haven’t worked at Sea World at one time or another. I worked in PB for a while, and I hated when I got on the trolley around shift change at Sea World. It was awful. I hope you had a good experience of it (though when I imagine wearing a costume in the summer it’s a little terrifying).

    (On another note, I’m not a Facebook user at all. ^_^)

    • August 23, 2012 12:41 pm

      Ya I took the train to work, and yes a lot of people work at Sea World. And yes most of the costumes are HOT, you get out of the thing after 20 minutes and you are drenched, but it was good fun.

  4. August 23, 2012 1:54 pm

    I’m with you on the Facebook thing. I keep mine up basically so I get notified about events. I know for many its a big part of their daily life, but I think I glace at it once a week, if that.

  5. jayon615 permalink
    August 23, 2012 5:57 pm

    Please tell me the dolphins at Sea World are not merely well costumed actors.

  6. August 23, 2012 8:31 pm

    I used to own a giant koala mascot suit that I broke out at parties. Eww wee! People get real creepy when someone is wearing a “furry” suit. Did you ever experience freaks at Sea World? Also, was it super hard to watch depressed wildlife in water cages?

  7. August 24, 2012 2:12 pm

    The costume actors are mostly around early 20’s and the people in the costumes can be either male or female, just saying. Totesamazelibrarian furry suits are fun. The wild life is pretty well taken care of at Sea World, they do have bad days like all living thing though. To the question of whether wild life should be in cages, that is should we have zoos, well the circumstances by which wild life find themselves at a zoo varies so all I can say is that Sea World gives the animals a lot of care, at least from my observations. And as far as large parks go the employment environment at Sea World is good, it feels like every one is happy to be there and for the most part I think that they are. But I don’t work there any longer so things may have changed in the past five years, I know that the park is under new ownership.

Leave a Reply

