Skip to content

Greetings from San Francisco

August 23, 2012
by

Hey everyone, my name is Lewis Sievers. This is my final semester in the SLIS program, so I’m looking forward to being done and on to librarian work where I can find it. I don’t have any programming experience, so this will be a good class for me to fill out some needed skills.  I currently work at the main library here in SF and live with my girlfriend and our cats. When not working or doing school stuff I like to read sci-fi, play online games, and play the piano (still learning). I also like to travel when I have the time/money. I just recently got back from Portland where we did some hiking, drank some great brews, and generally baked in the uncharacteristically hot weather. Good times.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Alice Worden permalink
    August 23, 2012 12:57 pm

    Lewis, I was also in Portland for the uncharacteristically hot weather. I love Portland, but I was so happy to get back to the Bay Area.

  2. August 23, 2012 2:08 pm

    HI, I live just north of Portland and spent most of those uncharacteristic hot days up at one of lakes sailing and swimming – just the right thing to do to beat the heat! It is a great place to visit, there is always something interesting to do or see. I haven’t spent a lot of time in the Bay Area, but enjoyed what little bit I have. -j

  3. August 23, 2012 2:56 pm

    Hi Lewis. Yes, that was very unusually hot weather. My bf and I took a train up to Seattle last weekend. The weather was so hot that there was a warning to the trains to keep their speed at 25 mph for fourteen miles in case the rails had warped in the 98 degree weather. Crazy stuff. Glad you had a good visit!

  4. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 3:45 pm

    Welcome, Lewis. Who is favorite SCIFI writer? When I was a boy it was Heinlein, then Herbert, Asimov, then…I don’t recall.

    • August 23, 2012 4:45 pm

      That’s a tough one. Probably Neal Stephenson (Anathem is probably my favorite book of all time), or Joe Haldeman (Forever War is one of those rare books that is really on a whole other level with its commentary on war etc., but pretty much anything he writes is a good read). I used to really like S.M. Stirling but I feel like his newer books are, for lack of a better word, crap. I also read a decent amount of fantasy, and the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin is pretty amazing if you can ignore the HBO series based off of them. I’m currently reading the Engineer Trilogy by K.J. Parker and it has some serious potential.

      • derek permalink*
        August 23, 2012 4:50 pm

        Nice. I made that same transition. My all-time fav for fantasy was Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever. Ever read Damon Francis Knight?

      • August 23, 2012 5:26 pm

        Can’t say that I have. I’ve been meaning to check out the Thomas Covenant books, though.

  5. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 5:35 pm

    He wrote “To Serve Man” the story of the alien cookbook on Twilight Zone and edited early pulp scifi magazines. A must read is “A Is For Anything” and also his list of definitive scifi bibliography. It was from him that I found Karel Capek’s “War with the Newts” which is one of the finest books ever written, let alone scifi. The “A is..” book is considered the dystopic precognition of nanotech-apocalypse.

  6. August 23, 2012 9:30 pm

    Congratulations on being almost finished with the program. I lived in Portland for 18 months, hot weather was indeed rare. You mentioned George R.R. Martin-I had a really hard time getting through the first novel, Game of Thrones. Are they all that dense?

    • August 24, 2012 1:39 pm

      I never found them to be overly dense, but if the style of first book wasn’t you cup of tea, I doubt you’d find the later ones to be any more approachable.

  7. August 24, 2012 2:42 am

    Hi! I work at Portola in SF! 🙂

Leave a Reply

