Skip to content

Greetings from Portland!

August 23, 2012
by

Hi I’m Emily Brown.  Call me M.

This is my 3rd semester in MLIS, and I’m 16 credits in.  I have two other classes besides this one, Information Systems and Vocabulary Design.  Hopefully I’ll be graduating at the end of Fall 2013.

I don’t have any web development or programming experience.  In 1998, I did try to create a geocities site but I had difficulties finding resources explaining what to do.  I’ve also dabbled with Linux, and while that was fun, I couldn’t play some of my video games nor figure out some of the little tweaks, so I went back to Windows.

Unusual factoid?  I’m a big sci-fi fan.  Like huge.  Video games (Chrono Trigger, FFIV, FFXI), comics (Transmetropolitian, Sandman, Promethea), novels (William Gibson, Charles Sheffield, Christopher Stasheff), cartoons (Adventure Time, MLP: FIM, Batman), television (Firefly, Red Dwarf, Star Trek), movies (Moon, Dark City, The Last Starfighter), web comics (Wayward Sons, Questionable Content); you name it.  I’ve watched the old Doctor Who series from 1963 to 1989, excluding the awful 6th Doctor seasons.  Currently I’m enjoying re-watching Farscape, which I highly recommend.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 4:11 pm

    Alright, M! Welcome aboard. I love SciFi and have lately been watching foreign films. I especially like the Spanish stuff.

  2. August 23, 2012 5:53 pm

    Firefly was a brilliant series, its a shame it was cancelled. I’ve never seen the old ones, but the new Dr. Who is one of my go-to shows on netflix these days.

  3. August 23, 2012 8:58 pm

    Hi M. I’m looking for a really good Sci-fi series to read any suggestions? P.S. I loved Farscape too but I can’t re-watch it until I watch Battlestar Galactica. If I don’t watch Battlestar soon my friends will disown me.

    • August 23, 2012 9:37 pm

      Hi Terri, better watch Battlestar then! Have you seen Eureka? Very fun, very quirky, show that is now finished, which I was impressed by.

  4. August 23, 2012 9:37 pm

    Hi M. I lived in Portland for 18 months. I really miss Powell’s and the wonderful food carts. And I agree with you and Lewis, Firefly was an excellent series. I have the original Battlestar Galactica waiting for me on my Netflix queue. I’m old enough to remember watching that series when it was first aired. Which makes me really, really old.

  5. Elise S. permalink
    August 24, 2012 12:30 am

    Farscape! I was crushed when it was cancelled and never really forgave Syfy for that. For some reason I’ve never watched any Doctor Who and feel like I might need to rectify that very soon. Maybe over winter break.

  6. August 24, 2012 6:30 pm

    Colin Baker was the worst Doctor ever! A shame to share the same surname as the greatest Doctor ever!

Leave a Reply

