Skip to content

Greetings from Oakland

August 23, 2012

Hello classmates (and Derek)! My name is Alice Worden (unless you are giving me a grade, in which case my “official” name is Bernadette Worden), and I live in Oakland, CA. This is my second semester in the MLIS program (I took the summer off because I’m married to a teacher, and we can do things like that), and I’m not exactly in a hurry to finish. Which is my way of saying that I plan to graduate when I’m done with all of my classes, which as this rate is a long way away. As of right now, I’ve only completed two classes (three if you count the mini-class).

I have functionally no programming/web development experience. I made a website or two from scratch when I was in middle school (and… now you know how old I am), but those were pretty sad looking websites and it was a long time ago. I think that people I know perceive me as tech-savvy, but I’m really not, so I’m hoping this class will help rectify that.

I have normal interests (I promise), but since I’ve been prompted for an unusual factoid, I will admit that I memorized JFK’s inaugural address while I was supposed to be paying attention in high school history class, and can still recite it. Most of it (but not all) I can recite with the proper accent and pauses as actually delivered.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 3:58 pm

    Welcome! Can you the Mayor Quimby accent, though?

    • Alice Worden permalink
      August 23, 2012 4:38 pm

      Nope. I’m terrible at accents in general. I learned the JFK accent from listening to a recording of the speech over and over again; I don’t even think I could apply it to a different set of words.

Leave a Reply

