Skip to content

oh boy, more schoolwork

August 22, 2012

My undergraduate degree is in political science, earned more years ago than I will admit except under torture. Though I had always loved libraries, it was not until I was studying for my M.A. in Mass Communication at the University of Florida that I experienced the depth of resources that a large university library contained. Learning to do research was quite painful at the time, but I came away with fond memories of the experience. I realize that for a graduate student today research in the same field would be an entirely different experience. I spent much of my time poring over bound copies of the Congressional Record and the Federal Register—two publications that begged for digitization. My library experience is primarily as a researcher and consumer so I feel I have some catching up to do with some of my peers here who have real behind-the-desk library experience.

This is my third semester in SJSU’s MLIS program. I completed my final core course over the summer. Archival studies are my current educational direction, but it’s early. I’m hoping to graduate in 2014. I’ve taken an html course about 10 years ago, but like any unused language, most is forgotten.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 9:59 pm

    You have a lot of interesting experience to bring to the table, but I’d love to know your name.
    -sarah

  2. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 9:42 am

    Agreed, if your WordPress name isn’t your real name it would be good for us if you spelled it out. But as to the content of your post, sounds very interesting and I’d say you have a wide open field in front of you. Big data and records administration are a big deal these days. Large $$$ from the DHS are being poured into this field.

    • August 23, 2012 10:21 am

      This is true and not only is DHS interested in such things but just about every other organization is too.

Leave a Reply

