Skip to content

Hi

August 22, 2012

Hi everyone,

My name is Julie, I’m a San Jose native in my second semester of the program. I’m only taking classes part time so I’m a long way away from graduation (Unless I pick up the pace I’m still about 3 years away). I don’t have any HTML experience, but I’m a product manager at eBay and know my way around a sql expression, so I’m hoping that will help me out here. I will at least have a large pool of programmer co-workers to help me out if I get stuck.

Hmm. Interesting factoids – Let’s see – I have a dog, two cats and four koi, I belong to a bellydance troupe here in San Jose, and my favorite holiday is Halloween.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2012 7:31 am

    Pleasure to meet you Julie! It is very neat that you work at eBay and it only makes sense that you are familiar with SQL expressions. I have been an user of eBay services as both a seller and buyer for over 10 years thus I am a huge fan. I don’t know if I can say the same about paypal but they have improved a lot since the acquisition by eBay. 🙂

  2. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 9:31 am

    If you can understand SQL, you are a shoe-in. Welcome aboard. Are your koi outdoors?

  3. jnetzloff permalink
    August 23, 2012 7:51 pm

    Thanks Jason – glad you like eBay! I work on the search team, so I’m all about helping you find stuff to buy, and helping buyers find your stuff.

    Hi Derek, yes, my koi are outdoors, and finally big enough that the raccoons and feral cats can’t carry them off.

    • derek permalink*
      August 23, 2012 8:02 pm

      That was what I was wondering…every time I put fish in my pond the raccoons eat them post haste.

      • jnetzloff permalink
        August 23, 2012 8:10 pm

        Our pond is a big modern rectangle with straight sides so the raccoons can’t wade in, and it’s too deep for the egrets to land in as well. I kept it covered at night with netting for the first two years until the fish were big enough that I didn’t have to worry.

      • derek permalink*
        August 23, 2012 8:29 pm

        Makes sense.

      • jesseblazek permalink
        August 24, 2012 10:34 am

        First off, I call Julie as a partner should the possibility for any partnered work arise. My dad has a PhD in computer science, but he would be a nightmare to seek help from. I suspect your SQL experience is going to be a huge asset for you simply because you already have the practice of being disciplined, detail-oriented, and practiced at editing on the fly. I anticipate a bit of a struggle getting used to how demanding programming will be in these respects.

        Second, my “bucket list” is currently 6 items long. Having a koi pond is one of them. I am envious and demand that you post pictures for us! 🙂

  4. jnetzloff permalink
    August 28, 2012 5:51 pm

    🙂

Leave a Reply

