Skip to content

hello hello hello

August 22, 2012
by

Hi everyone, I’m Iris.  This is my last semester of classes, and I’m planning on graduating in May 2013.  I don’t have much programming experience, but I did take LIBR 242 in Spring 2012, and have a minimal grasp on basic HTML commands (emphasis on minimal!).  I’ve been told that my background in philosophy/logic should help, so there’s that.

As for unusual factoids, I’ll share three of my quirkier ones:  I can’t snap my fingers, I can’t whistle, and I can (kind of) read/write Korean but can’t speak/converse/understand.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. choshil permalink
    August 23, 2012 5:36 am

    Hi Iris! I tried studying Korean but it’s a difficult one to learn. I can probably read a book for 2 year olds though 🙂

    • August 23, 2012 4:09 pm

      Hi Sarah, yeah, Korean is tough! If you can read a book for 2 year olds, you’re already ahead of me 🙂

      I think of it as a code that I’ve somehow managed to crack. But I don’t know how to decipher what is being said. When I was younger, my parents made me do weekend Korean classes – the problem is that they assume you already understand and can minimally speak the language, so they focus on teaching you how to read and write!

  2. derek permalink*
    August 23, 2012 9:29 am

    Welcome, Iris. Very cool facts and yes if you can actually think (use logic). Then this work is a snap. LIBR 242 was one of my favorites. Database tables and the art of the join are my most rewarding tasks.

    • August 23, 2012 4:11 pm

      Hi Derek, thanks to you, I’m now going to always think of “the art of the join.” It has so many applications – databases, social situations, cliques, clubs, etc. 🙂

  3. August 23, 2012 11:06 am

    Iris, I can’t snap or whistle either! I finally gave up on trying since I don’t think they are a necessity.

    • August 23, 2012 4:01 pm

      Hi Sara! It’s always great to find people who also can’t snap or whistle. It’s such a random thing, and most people just look at me like I’m nuts when I say that I can’t snap or whistle. These inabilities used to bother me when I was younger, but like you, I’ve long since given up on trying because I also don’t see them as a necessity.

Leave a Reply

