Skip to content

Video gets action

April 6, 2012

I really enjoyed this weeks assignment creating a video and I wanted to share a video that I think was made in such a way that people are compelled to comment and share it. It is under 5 minutes, has high-quality visuals (no shaky camera work), a well-chosen soundtrack,

It is kind of long, but even watching a minute or two will give you the idea… There are no actors or voice overs, but it draws you in!

Also, the content supports what I want to explore in my final project: digital marketing for libraries. It is the key for getting eyeballs on the videos we take the time and effort to create. “A key finding was that while library professionals comprise a significant portion of viewers for library promotional videos, creators can increase viewership by the intended audience if they frequently and strategically feature online video content in Web sites, local or campus communication vehicles, and social media environments”(Colburn and Haines, 2012).

What videos inspire you? What makes them good?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. shenriksson permalink
    April 6, 2012 1:08 pm

    Your video reminded me of this one that I saw a few years back: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gv8pmIr3a7k&feature=related. I think that the best part of both of these is that they make you think. The world has changed drastically in a very short amount of time, and until I saw the actual numbers of some of these stats it didn’t really sink in how much has changed and how fast (Facebook was founded in 2004 and it already has enough members to be the 3rd largest country!). Thanks for posting this video!

  2. April 6, 2012 1:41 pm

    That was an excellent video. It just happens that I read in Inc. magazine (although it is dated …March 2011) an article called “Sales and Marketing Dear customer….Creating a killer e-mail newsletter” (pg 104) Watching the video reminded me about this article and you might want to take a look at it for your final project. This writer states that “e-mail remains one of the most effective means of building relationships with customers and driving sales”….

  3. sesedell permalink
    April 6, 2012 3:17 pm

    Very interesting video! Two thoughts: the first is that how well we use social media is so important and such a huge discussion right now. Online Personal Learning Networks are becoming just as important if not more so than traditional resumes. The second is that I didn’t realize how influential gamers were until I started looking into this week’s assignment. So many organizations are looking to gamers to help direct the future of social media, information sharing, and information creation. It truly is a brave new world. Thank you for sharing!

  4. April 6, 2012 4:44 pm

    The information in that video was staggering! When I look at the way the world has changed since the year I was born (1980), I am nearly overwhelmed. An example of how I relate to this video is the fact that a great number of my friends are either people I have met online or people I have met at events that were created online. The Internet seems so necessary for socializing nowadays that I can’t even imagine how people socialized thirty years ago.

Leave a Reply

