Skip to content

Teaching with technology

April 6, 2012

I thought this article was interesting. This guy teaches 4th grade and he’s using iMovie and other tools, using digital storytelling in his instruction.  At the end of the article, he explains that he wants his students to know the Office suite, which stood out at me because my husband is currently taking a class learning the basics of Office.  Sometimes I find it amazing that even though I’m in my early 30’s, kids today are learning so much more about computers than I could have ever even fathomed at that age.

http://www.newsworks.org/index.php/homepage-feature/item/36352-lessons-from-teachers-learning-through-digital-stories-small-moments-&Itemid=1

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2012 4:48 pm

    The scary part is that when kids today are your age, they will be having the same insight about what kids are then being taught. Technology moves …

    jim

  2. April 6, 2012 5:50 pm

    You should see my almost 3 year old son navigate an iPad, it’s incredible. This article reminds me about a site I learned about that is a great resource for kids and parents- http://www.khanacademy.org/. I plan on using it with my son to help supplement what he learns in school.

  3. vmfujikawa permalink
    April 6, 2012 6:36 pm

    I wonder if our parents thought the same thing about what we were doing with computers in the 4th grade: messing with LOGO and playing Oregon Trail. Do you think that thechnologu has changed at the same rate in the past 25 years, as it did in the previous? It’s interesting to me because I remember feeling incredibly anxious during computer class as a child, but am now super confident in my ability to adapt and learn new things.

  4. robbrun permalink
    April 6, 2012 10:14 pm

    Being in my thirties myself, I can certainly sympathize. I remember using a typewriter in elementary school and then being absolutely ecstatic when I began using basic word processing on old-school Macs. From what I understand, whereas I just took a typing class in high school, today students can take full blown HTML courses.

  5. dreamercsr permalink
    April 6, 2012 10:56 pm

    I, too, remember typing class in high school. The most that computer class involved was typing and word processing. I teach high school and we have a computer animation class now for our students. We also have a creative arts and technology school pathway. The advancements are coming but on the same token we have a lot of students who are behind on the times. I have kids who tell me they are never on facebook & kids who tell me they don’t have a computer or internet access at home in order to check their grades on our school loop website. I also have students who barely know how to do the basics with PowerPoint or who never used PowerPoint until an assignment they had to do for my class as seniors. Technology is moving quickly and I love that this teacher is implementing it in his classroom.

Leave a Reply

