Skip to content

So much to learn, so little time.

April 6, 2012

There more I learn in LIBR 240, the more I understand there is much more to learn about websites. Derek has commented on the silence after his lectures, and I can only explain it for myself. This is all new to me and I don’t have the experience or vocabulary to create a good or even bad question. So when I’m stuck on a problem, like the work for week 10 which I’m still not getting, I use this website to help me at least see where I might be wrong:  https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/. This site also helps me peek into the future of what is possible and what I could be doing in the future.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. merrily chopp permalink
    April 6, 2012 12:32 pm

    Its good to have resources to rely on to double check things (or figure them out). I’ve used http://www.w3schools.com/ for years, because you can test how changes to a snippet of code look, right on the page.

    Recently I’ve read that some of their lessons include invalid code, and that the W3C is upset about their use of the name. But I still use it sometimes for quick checks.

  2. April 6, 2012 4:49 pm

    One of the best things about learning how to code is that you’re leaning on the World Wide Web. When I’m stuck on something, I just pop my question into Google and inevitably something useful comes up! I have found some great answers to my questions that way; the Web is very helpful to those who are learning html, CSS, etc. Ironically, though, I cannot remember what Web sites contained them. In my mind, they weren’t on Web sites — I “just Googled them”!

  3. vmfujikawa permalink
    April 6, 2012 6:57 pm

    I so totally agree, sometimes after lecture I dongles extra dumb, I don’t have any idea how to frame questions. Indeed, I often don’t know even know what the questions are until I’m neck deep in the work myself.
    Thanks for the heads up on the developer page. I will keep that in my arsenal!

    • vmfujikawa permalink
      April 6, 2012 6:59 pm

      *feel so extra dumb– sorry for the typo, I’m typing on my phone on my way to the middle of nowhere!

Leave a Reply

