Skip to content

Not So “Free” Music!

April 6, 2012

This week we were asked to create a video for our weekly assignment. I have had to create videos before in other classes and I love choosing the pictures and adding music. But, where does one find free music? No one wants to be sued for infringement.

I searched Google for “Free Music”. I found a website called www.freeplaymusic.com. This website contains music that can be used for free without  copyright restrictions.

I emailed Freeplay and asked them specifically about their terms of use. Their music is NOT free. You still have to pay to use their music, even in educational settings. If it is going to be posted on the Internet in any form, a fee must be paid.

I was completely surprised. Here is a company that advertises copyright free music, in reality, it is not.

I have no musical abilities, so creating a piece of music from Apple’s Garage Band is not an option. Alas, I guess my videos will be music free for the time being.

www.freeplaymusic.com

I found a cool video of someone explaining how freeplaymusic works.

http://youtu.be/4rOqEfARSOc

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2012 9:00 pm

    I find I come across this a lot when I am looking for content for projects used when teaching. Although I have some leeway through the licensing in the university and library it is incredibly difficult to access and use. I have had better luck sending written requests via snail mail to intellectual content managers than I have trying to use a limited purchase license. I feel like I need to be incredibly stringent on this since I am trying to teach college freshmen the standards of academic quality research.

  2. robbrun permalink
    April 6, 2012 10:11 pm

    Yes, it is difficult to find free music. I’m an avid user of sites like Grooveshark, Spotify and Pandora; unfortunately, the music is bound to the site and cannot be downloaded. Still, I suppose this is quite understandable from musicians’ standpoint, as well as from an economic perspective.

Leave a Reply

