Skip to content

The subject for this week’s digital story and a link

April 5, 2012

For the digital video story assignment on this week’s homework I chose to create a video on the “St. Albans Raid” of October 1864. This event is known in history books as the northernmost event of the Civil War, although I hesitate to call it a battle in the war because all it really boiled down to was a band of Confederate soldiers heading north to Canada who stopped here and robbed a few banks. One person was killed and, coincidentally, he was just about the only person in town who was a Southern sympathizer. Those are the breaks I guess.

I chose to use this event for my story because, first of all, local history is also the subject of my final project and I thought I could get a little work done towards that while doing this week’s work. Plus, when I mentioned this event in a previous blog post I received a comment from someone saying they had never heard of it (not too surprising really).

The site I am providing is to the Saint Albans Historical Museum’s web page dedicated to the Raid because they are the local authority on the event. (By the way there was an old 1950’s movie called “The Raid” about this event and several books have been written if anyone is interested).

Here is the web address: http://www.stalbansraid.com/

Thank you,

Angela

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2012 2:52 pm

    That is very interesting, I haven’t heard of this event either. Thanks for sharing! The 150th anniversary in 2014 should be a pretty big deal, too bad you can’t incorporate that into your final project, would love to see how it turns out.

  2. April 6, 2012 1:11 am

    This is such a neat idea for a project. I had no idea that Vermont had such an influence in the Civil War and so many soldiers were from that state. There are so many reasons why this is an important topic. It sounds like a terrifying event to live through. It really is a miracle the town didn’t burn down. The children that witnessed this and those poor men stuck in the vault must must have been horrified. Even though there was only one fatality, the man left a wife and five kids behind. I think these historic events sound uneventful when summarized, when they really were terribly exciting. The gunfight at the O.K. Corral could be described as the sheriff walking down the street and shooting criminals, but it was really so much more. This story strikes me in the same way. I’m looking forward to seeing your final project. I love learning about history. Great job!

  3. vtlibrarystudent permalink
    April 6, 2012 6:00 am

    Thank you! It is a very interesting subject (I think) but difficult to edit down to a 3 minute video! I created the narration and pictures and it was 5 minutes at first. I have edited it down as much as possible without losing too much important information and it is still a little more than 3 minutes. I hope I don’t lose too many points because of that (hint, hint, Derek).

Leave a Reply

