Skip to content

Telling Stories

April 5, 2012

This week’s assignment has really unleashed my inner storyteller. While my inner storyteller is not exactly refined nor a master storyteller, for that matter, I have been thinking about the how we as creative beings tell stories. I am an avid reader. I read books, blogs, Twitter feeds, and now I’ve just discovered a new medium for telling stories using new media. I have to admit, my brain is reeling!

In searching for more information about digital storytelling, I happened upon this video produced by FORA.tv.

http://fora.tv/embed?id=11270&type=c

Once Upon These Times: New Stories for New Audiences from PICNIC on FORA.tv

The Penguin UK digital publisher Jeremy Ettinghausen, who also helped to create the commercial We Tell Stories, really caught my attention. As a bookseller and librarian, I know that ebooks are dominating conversations, but the idea of *how* stories are being told continues to evolve with emerging technologies. And as a bookseller and librarian, this impacts what I do and how I do it. I find the evolution of storytelling, art, and new technologies truly fascinating and highly valuable as a person in the book and information business and as a creative person. IMHO, knowing what the conversations are, knowing what is happening, and looking for ways to collaborate in different platforms is crucial to our professional development, as well as our creative selves.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2012 6:13 pm

    This was fun to watch thanks for sharing. Great ideas were presented! I never really thought how “dull” e-reading really is, considering the possibilities available with technology.

    I cracked up when they talked about “You Suck At PhotoShop,” and I had to go check it out.
    Here’s the link to the first “episode” on YouTube… http://youtu.be/U_X5uR7VC4M

  2. April 6, 2012 12:50 am

    These are great resources, thanks so much! I also laughed at the Photoshop video concept. It took me a few minutes to realize this was a storytelling technique. The text message storyline sounded interesting, too, but a little nerve wracking! I’m still curious how someone tells a story on the back of tickets. I think these ideas are so creative. You’re right, it makes you a much more effective librarian if you’re aware of how people are using technology to tell stories in such unconventional and creative ways. Excellent post.

  3. April 6, 2012 5:00 pm

    I wonder about the digital story telling in the sense that I often do not have the patience to watch digital stories. Sometimes, it just takes too long. There is no useful way to skip forward, no index to search on.

    jim

  4. iatesunshine permalink
    April 6, 2012 10:13 pm

    I make up stories all the time on the spot as I work with kids, and yet when it came to this story I was having such a difficult time. I couldn’t figure out why I could tell a story about missing marshmallows one minute and then couldn’t tell a story about a trip my friend went on. Of course then I realized I don’t care what my kids think of my stories, just that they are entertained for a few minutes, but here I want to present a quality story because it’s getting graded. I really had to try hard and put that behind me.

Leave a Reply

