Skip to content

Color Blindness

April 5, 2012
by

As we’re getting closer to creating our own final project websites I think that creating pages that are friendly for all users is important. Just about every week, Derek makes suggestions we can include that can make a page more friendly and accessible to all users. It’s crucial to consider that there are many users that must interact with the Web in a unique way and we should do what we can coding-wise to make it as easy as possible.

One of the lectures that really stuck with me was for week 6, when Derek discussed color blindness and how we shouldn’t rely on colors as a primary indicator on a website. My dad is color blind and has a lot of difficulty distinguishing blue, yellow, and green tones, which might make some sites a challenge to view if these colors are heavily incorporated.

I found an article on the usability.gov site that discusses web creation and color blindness:

http://www.usability.gov/articles/newsletter/pubs/022010new.html#BenefitsofColorFriendlyWebsites

And another site that illustrates how people challenged with this disorder view colors:

http://colorvisiontesting.com/what%20colorblind%20people%20see.htm

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2012 2:00 pm

    I found your blog entry very interesting and was struck by the same comment Derek made regarding sensitivity to color blindness. Unlike you, I am not familiar with anyone who has this challenge and because of that I have not thought of web design in those terms. In your article,”Benefits of Color Friendly Websites” I found this comment “Your Web site is seen as more professional if it doesn’t exclude the impaired or disabled.” Now I find I look at the color palette of each new web sites I visit.

    Thanks for the article I really enjoyed it.

    • April 7, 2012 6:55 am

      Thanks so much! I honestly didn’t consider it, either, until that unit. It gave me a greater sense of the challenges other people face when using the Web. It is definitely important to remember the needs of all users when designing a site. I appreciate your comment!

  2. sesedell permalink
    April 6, 2012 3:33 pm

    Since week 6, I too have been mulling over how to design a website to accommodate various disabilities including color blindness. I don’t have color blindness and, because of that, it is all to easy to forget or ignore it. But it truly does make a difference and influences website use. I greatly appreciate the webpage by TestingColorVision.com that you included. It gives me more of an appreciation for colors, which have always enhanced my personal experience. What we see influences our Internet experience. Therefore, I can see why it is incredibly important to incorporate color palettes and alternatives for people who can or cannot see certain hues. Thank you so much for sharing!

    • April 7, 2012 6:58 am

      Thank you! I agree with you, it does make a big difference, and I appreciate color, too, as it usually does enhance a page. Color blindness aside, it was interesting to learn that color can also be abused and look downright garish when there is a combination of powerful tones all on one page. It takes away from the message of the site, instead of highlighting it. Thanks so much for your comment!

  3. sarcisticclapping permalink
    April 6, 2012 3:45 pm

    I also appreciate the website you posted. To be honest, before this class I never really thought much about accessibility. I just took it for granted, I suppose. Not anymore!

    • April 7, 2012 7:03 am

      Thanks very much. I didn’t consider it, either, so it was great that it was a part of the lectures. I take things for granted, and shouldn’t. It reminds me of the saying, “I cried because I had no shoes, until I met a man that had no feet …” It’s easy to forget the advantages we have. I do it all the time and I agree with you, I don’t want to do that anymore. Thanks very much for your insight 🙂

  4. iatesunshine permalink
    April 6, 2012 10:08 pm

    I always think it is so interesting how color blindness is probably the only disability others are really interested in. Always asking about this color or that color. When one would never quiz someone with blindness in one eye how well his depth perception is. Just a thought.

    • April 7, 2012 7:28 am

      This post was focused on color blindness. I think we’ve learned about accessibility in general. Derek’s covered guidelines that would apply to many physical challenges and should be included when possible into a website. I think a lot of people have gained insight regarding many challenges and not solely one disability in particular.

      It’s the focus of the discussion here because of the specific topic of the articles mentioned. That, however, does not encapsulate others’ philosophy of addressing disabilities.

      I think as librarians, we have to remind ourselves it’s our job to assist anyone that requires guidance and assistance and focus on equality for all people. It is appropriate to help anyone in need, but incredibly inappropriate to point out any disability as a shortcoming.

      That’s an interesting perception of color blindness and disability in general. I grew up with family that was challenged with life-threatening, disabling illnesses. You might be surprised at the tactlessness of others.

Leave a Reply

