Skip to content

Final Project Idea: Reference desk resources

March 9, 2012
by

Last semester I took LIBR 210 and was introduced to tons of great online resources for answering various sorts of reference questions.  The only problem was: how do I keep track of all of them?  Yes, bookmarks would work but that can get messy real quick.  Yes, libraries have resource pages but who wants just a list?  Here comes LIBR 240 to the rescue!  For my final project I would like to create a resource guide/pathfinder that would organize, describe, and link these resources, making it easier for librarians to answer patrons’ questions and for researchers to find useful resources.  However, it may be that I will have to narrow the field so that I’m not trying to cover everything.  I suppose I’ll see once I start working on it.  Also, since some of the resources require subscriptions which are only available through some libraries, I would have to figure out how to approach that issue.

One Comment leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    March 15, 2012 11:47 am

    Great idea for a useful and narrow topic. Consider putting reference questions into various buckets and then creating a path into each bucket.

Leave a Reply

