Skip to content

Final Project: Archaeology

March 9, 2012

My Final Project idea is still in the development stage.  I have a love for archaeology, but lack the background to match.  I find myself stumbling through different web sites trying to learn through virtual experience, but I have no direction or idea what I’m doing.  Therefore, this idea could provide a structured approach for others who also seek knowledge and guidance into the footsteps, dreams, ideas, and experiences of our very distant ancestors.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink*
    March 15, 2012 11:45 am

    A little vague for my taste. Exactly who is to use this site and what benefit will that user receive? Answer those questions first and then ask yourself do you know enough about this topic to make this web site without doing research first? If that final answer is not a resounding ‘yes’ then perhaps another topic or new direction is called for because you will not have enough time to create new research.

  2. March 16, 2012 12:33 pm

    Thank you, Derek, for your honest feedback. Two backup ideas: (1) Library for Project Management Methodology or (2) Movie Library. Project Management Methodology for Project Managers seeking consistency in documenting and reporting methods (I work in the project management department training to be a project manager so I have access to my employer’s existing methodology I can look to). A DVD and/or streaming movie library for anyone seeking stay-at-home entertainment – and maybe I could use my thousands of movies as the collection…now that one sounds like too much fun to me so I must be off track. I welcome thoughts or additional ideas.

  3. derek permalink*
    March 16, 2012 1:59 pm

    Who is it for (which ever you decide) and what is the benefit to them? Answer these questions first.

  4. April 29, 2012 10:49 am

    Good questions, Derek, which prompted me to consider that my troubles in answering these questions in a manner which I felt satisfactory is an indication that I need a new topic for my project…again. When I worked at University of Phoenix the majority of my students were individuals that were not necessarily looking for a college degree, but rather looking for a path that would lead them to a stable, meaningful, and enjoyable future. This usually required a major life altering experience – leaving the only job, work, or career they have known to embark on the unknown. I have been through this experience both as a mentor to my students in researching and helping guide them explore the skills, experience, and education needed to find that path, and in my own experience leaving an 18 year career in insurance claims. Exploring and making the decision to change careers moving away from all an individual knows toward something completely different that may require re-training, additional education, volunteerism to earn experience, and sacrifices in many areas, including decreased income or relocation, are a frightening experience. Laying the foundation for our careers as young adults is a much different experience than when restarting mid-life at age 40 with commitments such as spouses, mortgages, children, grandchildren, ailing parents, as well as changes in health, energy, memory, and perspective. I would like my new topic to be a library that provides the tools and research necessary for my target audience, adult career changers (approximate age 40+), to help determine if and how to pursue a career change. There are career dreams that sadly must be pursued at an earlier age so it is important for my audience to know about such things as age limitations, past troubles with the law, or health and fitness expectations that may bar them from pursuing potential new career choices. This is different than a job seeker site because it provides what is needed to prepare for that step.

    • derek permalink*
      April 30, 2012 8:59 am

      Great, nicely focused.

Leave a Reply

