Skip to content

Final Project: Privacy

March 8, 2012

Using the ALA’s Privacy Revolution as a guide, I would like to create a pathfinder regarding privacy in the digital age. The issue of privacy in the digital age has been an interest of mine since I started this program and – important to this project – why privacy is such a big concern to the LIS profession. I have two beliefs about privacy in the digital age: one is about personal information and the other is about the integrity of intellectual freedom. While I believe that privacy has changed as the Internet has evolved, I also believe there are ways we can protect the information about us, even though it seems to be getting harder and harder. The second point is regarding the role of LIS professional as a protector of privacy as it relates to intellectual freedom. Since I feel this subject is relevant to everyone, young and old, I seek create pages that will be age-appropriate. As I am trying to articulate my idea, I feel as though I am fumbling over my thoughts and am wondering if this is too big a topic. I would appreciate feedback. Thank you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sesedell permalink
    March 10, 2012 12:17 pm

    Other ideas are copyright, which I also find really interesting, esp as it pertains to Web 2.0 use. Or an art project/pathfinder that corresponds to my 281 – Metadata class using VRA Core. Clearly, I need some narrowing.

  2. derek permalink*
    March 15, 2012 11:50 am

    Any of these topics are fine. Just think of the intended audience first. Then think of how to get them all they need on the topic of choice. Think who do I want to instruct?

Leave a Reply

