Skip to content

Final Project Idea

March 8, 2012

Hi All,

This semester I am taking a Metadata class and I am also doing a cataloging internship. I’ve worked on a paper on MARC for this Metadata class and my next assignment will be a review on MARCXML . I chose to go MARC all in because I think it serves as a review as I learn original cataloging at my internship site. SO – my first idea is to build an online MARC, MARCXML study guide. Not sure how to fill 8-13 pages with MARC contents that are not all links though… My second idea is to create a true crime books pathfinder… start with most notorious and go from there… not sure if this work either. I love true crime books but I am not even sure how to build a pathfinder or if this would be interesting at all. Gosh, now I feel both topics are weird… who likes MARC or true crime books anyways? My last idea would be to build my husband’s consulting website. He’s no longer a consultant but he is in an engineer  and what he use to do kinda falls under LIS if I really push it… I could offer ‘document management services’ or ‘cataloging services’ something like that…. We also own the domain, graphics, etc but again – boring!

Thanks for reading.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2012 7:03 am

    I should say that by true crimes I mean serial killers… to make it simple I would concentrate on serial killers in the US: Ted Bundy, Dennis Rader, Charles Manson, etc…

  2. derek permalink*
    March 15, 2012 11:59 am

    I’d say go with the reader’s advisory pathfinder as to do the MARC/XML subject justice you would need a greater level of mastery of the discipline. Remember that our object here is to have you possess great eportfolio evidence of your technical skills viz. web technology. So new research/knowledge presentation could cause you to undermine your own best interests.

Leave a Reply

