Skip to content

history and research for final project

March 7, 2012

I am thinking about doing my final project as a site for people who are interested in researching the history and genealogy of my area here in northern Vermont (specifically, Franklin County). I envision this as a tool users could turn to that could direct them to other tools (links) for their research. Something that could help people find out more about specific subjects in history of the area. For example, the town I live in was the site of the northernmost action in the Civil War. My project would include a synopsis of this event, plus links to direct users to more information. The same with our rich history in maple sugaring.

Does this sound remotely like the ideas you would like to see in a final project? To be honest I had planned on creating a website for my husband’s new mountain biking club because he’s been bugging me to do so and I thought I could do both my project and his thing at the same time, but then I saw we needed it to be more geared towards an LIS topic. Guess he’ll just have to wait a bit longer!

-Angela

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2012 1:14 pm

    That sounds like a fun topic. I didn’t know any fighting from the Civil War took place in Vermont. I’ve heard there were some CW battles out here in California, but I know nothing about them.

  2. derek permalink*
    March 15, 2012 1:56 pm

    A pathfinder for a specific audience is perfect. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

