Skip to content

File Management

February 29, 2012

I am just ranting here… this is really not of importance. I thought it was an ironic situation is all. Last week I was working with a tutor (I am not as HTML savvy as I’d like to be) and I have had so many problems with all the variations of html files rambling around on my desktop that he was just completely dumbstruck at my disorganization. I know, I am a library professional and should be a bit better at this sort of thing. I even lost some points on the Fake APA assignment because I had several variations of the same file (I was trying to make repairs and I don’t know how it ended up that way but it did) and I ended up uploading one of the broken ones. Anyhow, I got a stern talking to by my brother in law who is helping tutor me. My disorganization had him face in palm, shaking head, eyes rolling, groaning on several occasions last week. So I started organizing, renaming, deleting broken duplicates etc. according to his recommendations. When he left that night he said “I cannot stress enough HOW important having a file management system in place is.” So this week as I began my work and I was so very relieved I had done this. For the first time since class started I felt prepared and ready and not totally lost, I am sure the rest of you had figured this out by the third week but I am a bit of a space case at times. So cool that my grumbling brother was able to tie me into something that made this weeks work a ton easier… Why did I not figure this out sooner?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. shenriksson permalink
    February 29, 2012 2:13 pm

    It’s nice that you have someone to help you clear the hurdles for this class. Organization is useful I hear…my mom swears by it. However, this is the first time I’ve been so organized in website-related files (perhaps lending to the difficulties I’ve experienced with basic web development in the past?). And I would agree that it’s definitely a time-saver. It shouldn’t be, but organizing our files into subdirectories was revolutionary. So much to learn have I!

  2. derek permalink*
    February 29, 2012 3:06 pm

    Glad to see that the core point of this week’s exercise is readily apparent: organization and relative position of file resources is the key to simplifying work and being sure of what is getting “worked on” in the process. Add in that many times files have the same name (index.html for example) and then the power of organization and a clear system to that organization is even more explicit. I let you all make a mess of your web directories on purpose: just so you could know in the “gut knowledge” sense how valuable file organization is to you.

Leave a Reply

