Skip to content

Hello fellow librarians!

January 27, 2012

My name is Angela Bernard and I currently reside in northern Vermont, about twelve miles outside of Canada, in a small city called St. Albans, having moved here five years ago from the Boston area.

I have been a SLIS student since the fall of 2009. I am taking my classes part-time (obviously!) and I am a little more than halfway through. My scheduled date of graduation is spring 2013, which works out perfectly because my younger daughter will start kindergarten that fall so it will be just the right time to go back to work full-time (yikes)!

Speaking of my daughters – I have two. Lindsay is 7 and in 2nd grade and already smarter than her parents, although she says she will never go to grad school after seeing me sweat over my classes! Molly is 4 years old and in pre-school.

I have absolutely ZERO programming experience and fear I may be too old to take this on but I guess we’ll see. I do work part-time at my local public library where I have sort of taken over the role of the tech person, answering questions and hosting seminars for patrons about various computer and technology related issues. I just finished an internship at a local college and was surprised to learn they eliminated the head of their cataloging department in lieu of someone to do web development and programming and tech projects for them, hence the reason why I signed up for this class. The wave of the future in libraries and all that…

An unusual factoid about me…hmmm…I guess the fact that I live in one of the coldest states in the country and yet have a terrible allergy to cold is unusual. Ice, snow, and cold winds give me hives and makes my skin burn. Totally treatable with an antihistamine though so that’s good! I still enjoy skiing with my families on the weekends and taking my girls sledding, just not the parts when I fall down and the snow touches me!

I hope everyone has a successful semester!

-Angela

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tnixey permalink
    January 27, 2012 7:08 pm

    Too old to take a programming class, What!? I am a firm believer that as long as you have the capacity for learning … you are not too old to learn anything :)! Some may say I have a naive and idealistic world view but others would say that is the best way to approach life. It’s going to be a great semester!!

  2. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 12:50 pm

    If you are curious and can understand a syllogism (if this, then that…) you can do this course easily. Older students tend to be more patient with themselves and thereby more successful.

Leave a Reply

