Skip to content

Brave New LIS, Brave New Me

January 27, 2012

Hello everyone. It is good to make your acquaintance here on WordPress!

My name is Mathew Senander. Most people call me Matt, but Mathew works just as well. I started SLIS in Spring 2011. As of now, I have completed 13 units and I believe I will graduate in Spring 2013.

I am a little nervous about this class becuase I have no programming experience whatsoever. To be honest, the first Collaborate meeting threw me for a loop, and I actually considered dropping the class. But after calming my nerves and looking more closely at the course, I have become excited about it. I look forward to learning as much as I can about coding! Like most SLIS students, I am a huge geek, so overall I think this class will be really fun for me!

Some factoids about me: I live in Sacramento, California, less than a mile from the State Capitol.  One of my favorite things to do is walk around my neighborhood, visiting parks, coffee shops, stores, out-of-the-way places, museums, the Capitol itself, and other landmarks the city has to offer.  In fact, most people don’t realize how fascinating and beautiful Sacramento is – I certainly did not before I moved here!  I grew up in Napa County, California, in a tiny hamlet in the mountains east of the Napa Valley.  It was beautiful there as well, but after seeing more of the outside world, I have no desire to go back!  I love to read, write, and pursue and organize all kinds of information, so library science has been an excellent choice for me in continuing my education.

I look forward to working with all of you!

P.S. My user name, birddomo, means “birdhouse” in Esperanto. Jes, mi estas esperantisto!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 11:52 am

    Hello Matt,

    I agree, there’s lots of cool places to see around the Capitol. I got my first Masters at Sac State and liked to go to Old Town and have lunch by the river.

    Good luck to us all,

    Phil Alexander

  2. January 27, 2012 1:13 pm

    Hello Mathew,

    Your posting made me smile!! It took me back about 20 years when a group of friends and I joined our local ‘Esperanto Society’! I didn’t retain much of what I learned back then but I remember feeling so cool learning Esperanto! Are you fluent?

    Cheers,
    Aida.

    • January 27, 2012 1:23 pm

      I’m pretty fluent, but I still stumble on words from time to time. I have to have a dictionary handy if I really want to converse! We have an Esperanto society here in Sacramento, but I have not been in a long while. Most of my interactions today are on Facebook, where I have met Esperantists from around the world! It is totally geeky but very fun! 🙂

      • January 27, 2012 1:39 pm

        How awesome!!! Yes, just like you said it was geeky and fun! Too bad I didn’t keep on studying it 😦

  3. tnixey permalink
    January 27, 2012 7:23 pm

    I actually got to visit Sacramento last weekend as a before the chaos of school, quick, one night vacation. I agree that it was AWEsome!! I went a bit picture crazy and fell in love with the old architecture. The city is on my list of places that I may want to move to next.

    • January 28, 2012 2:31 pm

      The architecture is the coolest! Did you know Sacramento has an “underground city”? The streets were raised about 10 or 15 feet in the nineteenth century to help control flooding, and the old storefronts still exist under the streets to this day. They used to give tours, but I don’t think they do anymore.

  4. shenriksson permalink
    January 28, 2012 9:48 am

    Last time I was in Sacramento was many moons ago when I went around the bars in Old Town for my best friend’s 21st birthday. 🙂 My boyfriend and I are going to take the train there next month for my birthday–I can’t wait! So many cool places to see.
    Good luck coding!

    • January 28, 2012 2:28 pm

      Good luck to you, too! I was ecstatic when my html file actually worked. 😀

  5. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 3:14 pm

    Esperanto makes me think of Mike Myers as Mick Jagger speaking to the actual Mick Jagger playing Keith Richards, “That wasn’t English, man. It was Esperanto or some language twins teach each other…”

    http://honestyinmotion.blogspot.com/2009/10/snl-93-w-keith-richards.html

    • January 29, 2012 12:43 am

      That was brilliant!! Thanks for sharing, Derek. I love finding references to Esperanto in the media! 🙂

Leave a Reply

