Skip to content

Hola, Ciao, Salut!

January 26, 2012

Hello everybody.  My name is Claudia.  I live in Pasadena, California.  I’m a high school English teacher; I’ve been teaching for 10 years. (gasp! has it been 10 years already? wow…) I have been in the program since Fall of 2009, which feels like forever ago.  I am almost seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.  I expect to graduate next spring. Like many of you, I have only been able to take 2 classes each semester because I teach full-time. It’s quite a load & I’m amazed I’ve survived as long as I have.

As far as programming experience, a long time ago I took a class on web page design/creation and learned HTML, etc., and helped the company I worked for at the time to create the building blocks of their website.  That was over 10 years ago though, and so much of that information is now lost on me.

An unusual factoid is that I speak 4 languages, some better than others, because I lived in Italy and France and was born in El Salvador.  English and Spanish are fluent, Italian is a high-intermediate and French is low-intermediate, mostly conversational, but hey, that’s something right?

Cheers!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 10:10 pm

    Hi Claudia, it’e very impressive that you can speak 4 languages. I wish I could do the same. The time this class is oiver you’ll be speaking html as well. Best of luck to you in the course. -Bridget

  2. January 27, 2012 11:19 am

    Hi Claudia.

    I have a degree in Linguistics from UC Davis, so I also have some experience with several languages. However, the only other language I can speak fluently is Spanish – and sometimes I’m not very good at it!

    I also speak Esperanto, but I don’t usually mention that as a language I speak because it is artificially constructed – but I sure like to geek out to it! 🙂

  3. January 27, 2012 1:35 pm

    Hello Claudia,

    I love foreign languages! I’ve taken Spanish, French and Italian classes. Portuguese is my first language so I can read and understand Spanish very well. My husband says I can also speak it fluently… but I just mix Spanish with some Portuguese and to him it all sounds the same 🙂

    Cheers,
    Aida.

  4. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 3:02 pm

    Awesome stuff with the languages. Web development is like that and is often referred to as “polyglot” programming because you have to know so many different languages (HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, C). You should do well.

    derek

Leave a Reply

