Skip to content

Hello… is this thing on?!?!

January 26, 2012

Hello everyone. This is my second semester in the program. The first semester was quite an experience for me. I had never taken classes online, never used any sort of Google docs or Elluminate, and was lucky just to get my laptop and router to speak to each other. I’m also a bit older than the average grad student, but then age is just a number. I am hoping to graduate at the end of next year.

I have no experience programming or developing websites, but I enjoyed 202, so here I am. Like a few others, I feel a bit of dread after the first session last night, but I am excited to learn how to do all this.

In my younger years, I would belt on my kilt and compete in the Scottish Highland Games. Using some of my new found library skills, I traced my ancestors back to when they made the jump from Scotland to America in the mid 1600’s.

Phillip Alexander

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 5:01 pm

    Hi Phillip, this is my fourth semester taking online classes and they are still new to me. I miss the opportunity to get to know classmates outside of class, which used to be quite difficult for me because I ten to be so shy. Online learning has changed that. Now, I’m shy online, but not in person. Go figure! =)

  2. mjhopper permalink
    January 26, 2012 5:05 pm

    WOW! That is all I can say! I am totally in love with Scotland and I hope to visit there some day! Hello Phillip, my name is Marcia. I too hope to use my new library skills to find out more about my own family. I think after taking this course, you will be surprised at how much skill you already have. Good luck!

  3. January 26, 2012 10:07 pm

    Hi Phillip. My name is Bridget. My parents are both from Scotland. In my younger years, I alwaays wanted to learn how to play the bagpipes. My cousin,who ives there also likes to compete in the highland games. One day I hope to attend the Tatoo in Edinburgh. Wish you luck with the class.

    • January 27, 2012 11:56 am

      Hi Bridget,

      After attending many Games, my wife is not really fond of bagpipes, but I think there is no better musical instrument. Good luck to you, Phil

  4. January 27, 2012 11:15 am

    Hey, another Alexander! I am an Alexander by marriage but my husband’s lineage also goes back to Scotland. Perhaps we’re from the same clan? πŸ˜€

    • January 27, 2012 12:01 pm

      Over the break, I had fun searching for and finding old texts mentioning my lineage. There is some confusion about which Alexander’s came over and when, but it just adds to the mystery. Good to meet you and good luck, Phil

  5. mnuesca permalink
    January 27, 2012 4:15 pm

    Hi Phillip!

    I’m a Filipino girl who wishes she was Irish or Scottish :p In fact, of the many countries I’ve visited Scotland is probably in my top five. I absolutely adore Edinburgh and would live there in an instant! And I have already requested that bagpipes be played at my funeral (hopefully far in the future). My family tends to laugh when I say this but I’m totally serious!

    It’s nice to meet you! I hope one day to make it to the Highland Games!

    πŸ™‚ Mercy

  6. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 12:42 pm

    Phil,

    Recent studies show that if you tell people it takes a “certain talent” to do something they will be less skilled than telling them it merely takes practice and dedication. This applies to coding or web development. There is no “knack” to our practice, just doing and learning from mistakes. Liking 202 is a very good sign.

    derek

Leave a Reply

