Skip to content

Hello From Yi!

January 26, 2012

Hello everyone in LIBR240,

My name is Yi (pronounced as “Yee”) and I am from China as you could see from my name.  And I bet my name is not that hard to pronounce compared with other ones:-)  I am in Indiana right now with my husband and I am a mom of 5-year-old girl and 2-year-old boy!  Actually this is the fifth semester of the program, I could only take one or two courses each semester because of the busy kids who I enjoy a lot! I hope I could finish all in the future three years.

I worked as an attorney when I was in Beijing so I don’t have any web development experience before. And my goal is to be a law librarian, and I am interested in the web development through which I could see the inner part of the webs.  With the wonderful teachers and all you guys in this community, I am sure that I will enjoy the great experience here at SLIS.

One funny and embarrassing fact about me is that my birthday is on the day of the Chinese New Year, so I never had a birthday party with friends !

7 Comments leave one →
  1. shenriksson permalink
    January 26, 2012 9:45 am

    Maybe I’m asking a dumb question, but what is the “right day”?
    I can completely understand needing to take a lighter class load, especially if you have two young ones to take care of (not children but work keeps me from being able to take more classes at a time).
    Glad to meet you and good luck with school! 🙂

  2. yierjiang permalink
    January 26, 2012 9:57 am

    I am sorry that the word “right day” confused you:) It’s my fault that i did not express it clearly. it just means that my birthday is the New Year Day:)

  3. yierjiang permalink
    January 26, 2012 10:03 am

    Hi Sarah, I already changed the confuse:) Thank you and have a wonderful semester!

  4. January 26, 2012 12:24 pm

    Hi Yi,

    The Midwest is beautiful! Your professional background is fascinating and a legal librarian sounds like a terrific career. I think there is a lot to be gained in taking your time and enjoying the program. I wish I had done the same. I can only imagine how difficult it must be to raise a family while attending graduate school. I think it’s amazing to do that.

    I know how challenging it must be to have a birthday on a holiday. You deserve a nice celebration! My friend’s birthday is on Christmas and misses out on parties because of that, too.

    Great to meet you!

    Take care,
    Rebecca

  5. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 2:13 pm

    Must be like being born on Christmas day! Which calendar animal are you? I am a Water Tiger.

    derek

    • yierjiang permalink
      January 28, 2012 5:47 pm

      I am an earth Horse:) so nice to know that you are a Water Tiger!! I like your Chinese from Laozi on our lesson page:)

      • derek permalink*
        January 29, 2012 10:56 am

        Thank you. The Way is a big part of my life. What is most meaningful is that as my path narrows, the possible destinations become wider.

Leave a Reply

