Skip to content

Hello from Pennsylvania!

January 26, 2012
by

Hello LIBR 240!

My name is Rebecca and this is my third semester in the MLIS program. I’ve taken six courses previously. I live with my husband and orange tabby cat about an hour outside of Philadelphia. I hope to graduate at the end of 2013 or early 2014.

I don’t have any programming or web development experience. I’ve always wanted to know more about the technical side of things, though, and have always been afraid to try. I wanted to finally do it in 2012. This course is way out of my comfort zone and I’m excited and terrified.

I love animals and history. I enjoy photography and like to take pictures of abandoned places. I’m going to take a trip to Centralia over the summer, which is an almost abandoned town that has had a coal fire burning under it since the early sixties. It’s a fascinating and unforgettably tragic place.

I’m looking forward to this class. Good luck to everybody this first week!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sesedell permalink
    January 26, 2012 4:59 pm

    Since I wrote about living in Centralia, WA in my post, I had to look up Centralia, PA after reading your post. It sounds really interesting and a little eerie! I will definitely doing a little research to learn more about the East Coast Centalia.

    Nice to “meet” you!

    • January 27, 2012 7:19 pm

      Hi Shannon!

      It is wonderful to “meet” you, too! šŸ™‚

      It sounds like you’ve had a lot of excitement in your Centralia, too – can’t imagine what it would be like to live through a volcano eruption. That’s amazing and scary! I will have to learn more about the West coast Centralia. I’ll bet it’s beautiful. The PA one is definitely eerie and very, very sad, especially for the poor people that lost their homes and hometown.

      Looking forward to working with you. You’re going to do great in this course!

      Take care,
      Rebecca

  2. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 2:52 pm

    This “dead city on burning ground” blows my mind! Thank you for steering me to find out about it! Makes me think of the rivers burning from pollution.

    derek

    • February 1, 2012 9:13 am

      Hi Professor,

      I haven’t heard about the burning rivers, either, so I appreciate that! I’m going to be looking that up this week. I just watched a youtube video of the Cuyahoga River pollution from 1967 – it’s terrible.

      There was a “60 Minutes” show that originally aired in 2009 on last night about the destruction caused in Kingston, TN from millions of tons of coal ash. It reminded me of the situations concerning the Cuyahoga River and the town of Centralia, too.

      Thank you so much for your comment and for the info šŸ™‚

      Take care,
      Rebecca

Leave a Reply

