Skip to content

Hello everyone!

January 26, 2012

My name is Beatriz, but everyone calls me Betty. I live in Norwalk California and this is my fourth semester in the program. I’m taking it slow…at least that’s what I’m telling myself since I can only take a class at a time. I’m hoping to be done by 2014…hopefully!

I have absolutely no experience in programming/web development. I was on the website remodel task force at work, but we were only allowed to write down what we wanted things to do. Hopefully, I can contribute a lot more the next time we change the website! So far, the class is scaring me a bit, but it’s a good type of scare. I’m really excited that it’s going to keep me on my toes.

I can’t really think of anything that’s unusual. Well, I don’t have kids but I like to tell people that I have two (a 58 year old and a 60 year old). I care for my ill parents, so most of the time I feel like I’m parenting a couple of teenagers. Yes, they have a curfew and have to check in with me when they go out. I love it though. =)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sesedell permalink
    January 26, 2012 5:03 pm

    Betty,

    Curfew for your parents? Now there’s a role reversal! 🙂 It’s challenging to be a caregiver, but with family, it just seems right.

    Good luck!

    ~Shannon

    • January 28, 2012 9:35 am

      =) Yes, a curfew. I don’t really like my dad to drive at night so I ask them to make sure to be in before then. I’m trying to avoid taking away the things that they like to do and make them feel independent. It is challenging, but we try to find the fun in it.

  2. shenriksson permalink
    January 26, 2012 5:04 pm

    Hi Betty! Glad to see you too. 🙂 Funny enough, in my 285 class last semester, putting together a proposal was a topic we hit–definitely brought back some memories of 204! Good luck with this class. It’s definitely gonna keep me on my toes too!

  3. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 3:21 pm

    Betty, you will this work and skill set empowers you a great deal in the work environment.

    derek

Leave a Reply

