Skip to content

Hello everyone!

January 26, 2012

Hello fellow students,

My name is Lila Garza and I am looking forward to working with all of you.  This is my first year in the MLIS program and I am enjoying it immensely.  I also work, but am hoping to graduate at the end of next year.  I hope to experience several different library environments through internships in order to determine the best fit for me professionally, although my heart probably lies with serving the public somehow.  I am married and live in San Francisco, where I work at the California Academy of Sciences.

I have no programming or web experience at all, so I am definitely a novice to the information we are covering.  But I am a very detail oriented person and actually enjoy work others may find tedious so I am hoping that will help.  I am looking forward to the challenge, and definitely want to gain more technical skills both for personal and professional development.

Like many others, I find it difficult to isolate an unusual fact about myself, especially since I do not participate in social networking sites like Facebook so I am not well-practiced at describing myself in succinct and interesting sentences.  I do not have a cell phone, which may be considered unusual, I wore gray at my wedding, and I have read all of “Lord of the Rings” aloud (to my husband one year).  Don’t judge me on that last one, it was actually really fun!

I hope you all have a great weekend!

Lila Garza

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 7:22 pm

    Wow, I’m impressed that you read all the Lord of the Rings, not to mention out loud! It is deffinately a classic piece of literature.

    ~ Linda K.

  2. dreamercsr permalink
    January 26, 2012 8:32 pm

    “I do not have a cell phone, which may be considered unusual, I wore gray at my wedding, and I have read all of “Lord of the Rings” aloud (to my husband one year).”

    I love all of those things!! Originality is key for weddings, I’ve met one other person who did not have a cell phone and I found it interesting but refreshing at the same time, and I was going to suggest reading a novel out loud to my boyfriend but I’m not sure he’ll go for it. He’s not the real patient type or an avid reader either, so… I’m still thinking about making the suggestion.

  3. sarcisticclapping permalink
    January 26, 2012 9:52 pm

    I think it’s great not to have a cell! Sometimes I feel like the only person in the world who doesn’t text and hasn’t jumped on the smartphone wagon.

  4. iatesunshine permalink
    January 26, 2012 10:40 pm

    California Academy of Science! *sparkle* What a amazing place to work. I hope you love it as much as I am jealous of you.

  5. January 27, 2012 6:31 pm

    Greetings,

    No cell phone! I sucumbed a few months ago. Everyone finally convinced me that I needed one for emergencies. So, I got one, but haven’t told anyone the number.

    Good luck with the semester,

    jim

  6. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 1:54 pm

    cell phone === digital leash

    I read all of LOR many times as a young man and can say that world saved my life. When my boys were young I read all of the Harry Potter series out loud as they were published.

    derek

Leave a Reply

