Skip to content

Greetings from Hawaii!

January 26, 2012
by

Hello!  My name is Mercedith, but everyone calls me Mercy.  I’m a little over halfway done with the program and hope to graduate by the end of this year if I can manage to do a thesis in one semester (I’m being pretty ambitious and taking 4 courses this semester – yikes!).

I don’t have any programming/web development experience, but am at least somewhat comfortable with command lines, having taken LIBR 244 Online Searching last year.

One interesting factoid about me is that I have visited 16 states and 12 foreign countries (and counting!) so far.  And I’ve only managed to lose my cell phone only once 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 1:06 am

    Mmm, now I want some ramen! ; )

    In response to your comment to my post, yes I ride a little. There is Always something new to learn though, kinda like programming. Riding is great therapy both mentally and physically…if you have any time in your busy schedule, should give it a go!

    It’s great to meet you!

    ~ Linda K.

  2. mnuesca permalink
    January 26, 2012 1:22 am

    Linda,

    I think we’ll confuse people with this talk of ramen 😛 After I posted my introduction I decided to change my factoid to something more interesting and less gluttonous. Although, I’m glad to find someone else that craves ramen as much as I do.

  3. yierjiang permalink
    January 26, 2012 9:12 am

    Hi Mercy,

    I like Ramen very much too:-) I envy you that you could travel to so many countries and states, which must be an exciting experiences! Hope I could do that someday!
    It’s so nice to meet you here:)

    • mnuesca permalink
      January 27, 2012 4:08 pm

      Hi Yi!

      It’s nice to meet you, too! I’m sure the ramen noodles in China are excellent. Are there many ramen places in Indiana? I went to school in southern Virginia a few years ago and couldn’t find a good ramen or Korean restaurant, I nearly died! Just kidding, but I certainly ate my fill whenever I went back home to Hawaii.

      I definitely recommend traveling, but I also envy your experience of being born in China and now living in a foreign country. It gives you an interesting perspective of America and its culture. I hope to one day live in Europe.

      🙂 Mercy

  4. shenriksson permalink
    January 26, 2012 9:39 am

    I love to travel too–haven’t been to as many places as you have, but I intend to take up traveling again after I finish my MLIS. 🙂
    Good luck with your four classes. You’re a much braver soul than I!

    • mnuesca permalink
      January 27, 2012 4:20 pm

      Hi Sarah!

      Thanks for the good luck, I’ll certainly need it.

      I, also, haven’t done much traveling lately. It’s difficult when you’re taking classes during both semesters, as well as summer. Have you already started thinking about where you want to go after you graduate? I always like hearing about people’s travels. What’s your absolute favorite place you’ve been to that you recommend everyone visit?

      🙂 Mercy

  5. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 2:59 pm

    So which island is home? I had a Spanish instructor at UCI named Mercedes. One of my favourite people and favourite names. Mercy is a cool cognomen.

    derek

    • mnuesca permalink
      January 28, 2012 6:25 pm

      Oahu is home for me. I live in a town called Kalihi, translated it means “the edge” in Hawaiian, which is appropriate because it’s located at the very western edge of Honolulu. It’s a bit ghetto, but it’s home so I love it.

      Cognomen is a cool word; I’ll have to file it into my mental dictionary 🙂

Leave a Reply

